Supernatural Television

I have not only indulged in scary movies this October but there is actually too many Halloween-flavored television shows out there.  I’m not talking Walking Dead because I am sooo over zombies and the show never really struck a chord with me.  Granted I only watched one episode but whatever.  I might break down and watch it at some point but right now I doubt it.  There’s no need to watch it as there are plenty of other shows that I can sample this month (and into the future).  It’s an excuse to check out paranormal shows that I have been meaning to watch.

Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace (Two episodes in)

This show is a parody on supernatural/paranormal shows like Twin Peaks and Dark Shadows.  In the fictional world of the show, Darkplace is a showcase for fictional horror writer Garth Marenghi who was commissioned to write and star in a drama for the BBC.  The BBC canceled Darkplace before it was even aired but, now that they are short on programming, they begrudgingly air the show along with commentary from Garth Marenghi and his producer.  The show within a show is cheesy as they emulate all of the poor acting, bad special effects and horrible writing of a low budget series.  There is a lot of eye rolling goodness and they cover a lot of supernatural ground.  I really like it and I will watch more but the show is already over and, like other BBC shows, did not last beyond the first series.  In fact, there are only six episodes.

American Horror Story: Freak Show (Three episodes in)

Like most seasons of American Horror Story, the show sets up a pervasive creepy and twisted mood.  There aren’t really that many outright scares but instead it explores the darkness inside everyone.  There are circus freaks (or insert the PC term) but they aren’t really frightening or repulsive, just interesting.  They do a great job of creating more rounded characters and even extras are given a little business that makes them seem more full.  Jessica Lange is pretty brilliant and recently revealed that she can sing as well as she can act.  The plot kind of meanders a lot and sometimes it feels like they are making it up as they go.  They lean heavily on atmosphere, interesting characters and good acting instead of focusing on plot.  Maybe I’m wrong and I just can’t see what they’re doing yet.  Only time will tell.  If all else fails, I recommend seeing at least one episode just for the much publicized creepy killer clown.

From Dusk Till Dawn: The Series (9 Episodes in)

From Dusk Till Dawn was the beloved result of two friends (Robert Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino) pairing together to create a Vampire/Action/Comedy movie.  The story follows two criminals and a family of three who get attacked by vampires in a strip club.  It was pretty simple but had some nuanced bits in it, mostly because of stellar performances from Harvey Keitel and George Clooney.  The TV series basically takes the movie and fleshes it out, making it longer and allowing for there to be more at stake (no pun intended).   I think they fill in a lot of the mythos for the show using the backstory laid out in the Dusk Till Dawn Sequels but I can’t remember because those movies were pretty boring.  I try to remember them and I pretty much get white noise.  Anyway, the show is pretty creepy and has a lot of great performances including great ones from Wilmer Valderrama and Robert Patrick.

I have some more that I’m going to check out so I’ll get back to that as soon as I do.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

