Media Update 5/28/2015


Mad Max: Fury Road

 

I saw this on Saturday at the Rotunda Theater which is still my favorite theater even though it’s small and currently in the middle of a construction site. I was told that this movie would be very good and very exciting and that it was constructed like an 80’s action movie. I went in with high expectations but I also went in with the mindset I prepare for movies like Furious 7 and GI Joe. I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, the movie was way better than I ever expected. I disagree with the idea that it’s just like the old Mad Max movies or just a cheesy 80’s movie. It felt like the franchise evolved and we got actual rounded characters. More than anything, the movie was intense. I felt like it grabbed me and shook me and didn’t let go until just before the credits. Despite all the stiff muscles it caused, I definitely recommend this movie.

 

Godzilla (2014)

 

I can’t say I recommend this movie. The visuals are amazing and the acting is definitely exactly what you require it to be. Bryan Cranston is a spectacular actor who I’ve loved from day one even in a sitcom that I didn’t really care for. However, I couldn’t make it through this movie. I love Godzilla. I have watched several of the original Godzilla movies and my favorite is Godzilla vs. Biollante. You know what I loved about Godzilla movies? Everything but the plot and character development, that’s for sure. Is it a good adaptation of the Godzilla concept and franchise? Yes but it’s not a good movie. It’s an ok movie but its bigggest sin is being boring. (Spoilers) Also, Bryan Cranston gets killed off pretty quickly. So we’re pretty much left with David Straitharn who is awesome but he couldn’t carry the movie on his own. Skip this one. I actually liked the 1998 version better.

 

Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared

Wow. I don’t want to spoil this little mindwarping show but as soon as I found out about it, I was fascinated. It’s basically Sesame Street gone wrong in all the right ways. I find it legitamitely scary and it definitely makes me think. There’s only four very short episodes right now so you can easily catch up. If you don’t like your humor mixed with existential horror, please stay clear.

 


Boston Legal

 

I started watching this with my mother this week as it was my Mother’s Day present to her (along with 1/4 of a Jimmy Buffet concert ticket). I gave it a shot because I have recently become a bigger fan of James Spader and I’m amused by William Shatner. It’s surprisingly good in a shock and awe/sitcommy sort of way. I’ve only seen two episodes but it’s full of great character actors and a sort of insane silliness that reminds me of shows like Scrubs and Community.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

