Media Update 7/9/15


Kung Fu Hustle

I initially started watching this because it is recommended reading for the new tabletop gaming world I’m creating a character for. Once I was about two minutes in I realized that I had made the right choice. A few minutes later and I had the biggest grin on my face. I wrote earlier about City Under Siege and I wonder again why it took me this long to find martial arts films like these. They seamlessly blend comedy, drama and action together. This one was ultra violent but a lot of the time it was like if you took Superman, Looney Tunes and Mortal Kombat and threw it all in a blender. It was really funny but at the same time certain parts made me really feel for the silly characters. I don’t want to spoil anything about the movie because there are so many surprises that made my head spin but also somehow made sense. It so definitely try this one if you can stomach violence and you aren’t too uptight.

 


The Vampire Diaries

This is a show that has been around for ages. I’m not going to lie, I watched the first episode of this for a girl. I told her I would check it out and I’m really not afraid to try new things so I thought what’s the harm? It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, it really wasn’t bad at all. There’s a lot going on in the show that I like. Two immortal brothers, one good and one evil. A girl between them who is a dead ringer for a woman they knew centuries ago and is probably an ancestor or something. The non-supernatural elements were pretty good even though there were a few cringe-inducing moments due to early onset Twilight Disease but I chalk that up to playing to the CW crowd. Even shows like Arrow and Flash are guilty of that somewhat. I think I could actually stand to watch a few more episodes and see where the plot goes.

 


In a World…

I had been eyeing this title in the Netflix menu for months but I’m glad I didn’t jump on it right away because I just watched it with my mom. This movie covers the competitive, dog-eat-dog world of voice acting but it is also a story about family and finding yourself. There are tons of movies that do not get a big theater release and instead are more or less quietly released to Netflix, Amazon and other similar outlets. It’s so easy to overlook these movies in a flood of more mediocre offerings. This movie was worth your time. The dialogue was fast and snappy and the characters were relateable, endearing and hilarious. Lake Bell stars in this movie and also wrote and directed it and it is definitely a labor of love. She gathered a great cast with a lot of funny people like Demetri Martin, Nick Offerman, Rob Cordry and Ken Marino along with a stellar cast of people I hadn’t really seen before. If you have Netflix this only a few clicks away and well worth it.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Media Update 7/9/15”

  1. Movies Explained Badly | Wolf of Words Says:

    […] A job is vacated due to a death and a woman pushes to be the first to claim it. Answer […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

