Media Update 8/6/2015


Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation

I remember walking out of the Senator Theater after seeing Mission: Impossible in 1996 with my family. My mother didn’t understand the plot but I was sure that I understood every twist and turn and it turned out I was pretty much on point. I never really watched the show but I felt at the time that M:I was a great movie with plenty of action and suspense. I still feel that way about most of the franchise. Ghost Protocol renewed my interest by including Jeremy Renner and Simon Pegg and injected a little more comedy in with the drama, not much but enough to lighten it up a bit. I felt they did even better with Rogue Nation. From beginning to end I loved the fast pace and mystery. They got the band back together from Rogue Nation and added Ving Rhames back in from the original trilogy. Say what you will about Tom Cruise but I think he plays a really good action star and he does a lot of his own stunts. The movie pretty much hit all of the right notes and there was never a moment where I wasn’t invested. I definitely recommend it. I’ll probably be seeing it a second time.


Trainwreck

Speaking of the Senator Theater, my Dad and I drove off to watch Trainwreck at what is the best movie theater in Baltimore. My Dad insisted that we go see Trainwreck based on articles he had read about the movie about the writer/star Amy Schumer. I was a bit surprised at this because my Dad has never really expressed interest in romantic comedies before. From the trailers, that was what I thought Trainwreck was. I thought it was a Netflix watch at best but Dad pushed for it so I relented. Afterall, he had often relented when I pushed for comic book movies. I completely underestimated the movie. Whoever made the trailer I saw should be fired. The movie is not just a romantic comedy. It’s also a great movie about a person (Amy) who is forced to come to terms with who she is and who she wants to be. It’s a story about personal growth and expanding your boundaries and also about what love is. I highly reccomend everyone check it out. The only caveat I have is that there is a lot of pretty dirty language in it so be prepared. (Also John Cena is in it!)

Awesome Links of my Week:
Neil Gaiman Storytime
NSP and Steel Panther live on stage (NSFW)
Starbomb – Luigi’s Ballad (NSFW)
Deadpool Trailer (NSFW – I’m sensing a theme)

Updates:
– Bob’s Burgers just gets better in the third season
– Bojack Horseman’s second season was so painfully good
– I think I gave up on Chuck, it’s just not for me
– My plan was to watch Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp next week
– I caught up on Supernatural up to the end of the 9th season. It’s great

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

