Media Update 8/13/2015


Lavalantula

Gotta love a good bad movie. In this one, spiders basically made of lava are unleashed on LA after a volcano erupts after an earthquake. The movie stars Steve Gutenberg of all people as an actor who used to be a superhero in movies. This is probably a role they would have given to Adam West years ago but Steve pulled it off pretty well. The spiders were actually pretty creepy and the effects, although cheesy, definitely lent themselves to the creepy and scary end of the spectrum. The script was laughably awful as one might expect from a SyFy movie. The movie also reunites Gutenberg with Michael Winslow and Marion Ramsey. All three were in the Police Academy movies as Mahoney, Jones and Hooks respectively. They also throw in Ralph Garman which was awesome.

 


Sharknado 3

What a long strange trip it’s been. I was definitely a fan of the first Sharknado but the second one kicked its butt in terms of cheese. I was wondering what the third one would be like. Would it live up to all the self aware hype that had begun to surround the franchise? Yes. I believe it did. There were plenty of badass moments for Finn Shepard to shoot or saw sharks and plenty of celebrities you get to see eaten. The movie had a couple of sins though. The first major sin was that it included killer sharks and Ann Coulter and Coulter wasn’t torn apart. Also, Tara Reid was in the movie yet again. Once again her character did nothing and said nothing of importance and could have been replaced with a cardboard cut out. Oh well. The movie is still awesomely bad and worth a watch but watch the whole trilogy.

 


Miss Fisher Murder Mysteries

Finally something a little more serious. I really have fallen into watching almost nothing but Youtube and Netflix lately and I’m always cruising Netflix for new stuff to watch. I spotted this one and saw that it was period detective show. I love period detective stuff. I’m a huge Phillip Marlow fan and I love Agent Carter and Agatha Christie. Miss Fisher is a 1920’s flapper who solves crimes in Australia. She served in World War I (though I’m not sure what capacity yet) and is determined not to suffer anymore losses. She’s a brassy, tough woman with a tendency toward being funny and sneaky as well. The show really caught me by surprise with how brilliant it is. I’ve only watched four episodes but I’m definitely hooked.

 

Links of the Week:
Cookies! – Ninja Sex Party
Sonic Dreams Collection (Not Safe for… anywhere)
Everything Wrong with Breaking Dawn Part 1 and 2 as well

 

Updates:
– I finished Season 2 of Agents of Shield. Wow. This show got even better.
– I finished Season 1 of Vampire Diaries. It’s really, really good actually.
– I will watch Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp with my mom, was waiting on her to watch the original movie now we’re good to go

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

