Media Update 10/8/2015

Scream Queens

Things are kind of a mixed bag when it comes to series created by Ryan Murphy. I actually liked Glee for the first season and a half. I liked the first few episodes of each season of American Horror Story until I lost interest and walked off. I didn’t know what to expect from this one. The title comes from a phrase that Wes Craven seemed to invent in the movie Scream and I’ve only heard it applied to Jamie Lee Curtis who shows up on he show. I guess you could apply the term to people like Janet Leigh and Heather Langenkamp but I can’t think of anybody else. I definitely wasn’t expecting the show to be pretty funny. I was expecting the show to be darkly humorous and scary but it’s not scary at all unless you count the occasional telegraphed jump scare. I found that I don’t care if it’s scary or not. I’m willing to give it a shot for the dark humor and the cartoon violence. The best part is that like Glee I’ve grown to hate all the characters but unlike Glee, they’re all going to die anyway. Check it out if you’re in a Halloween mood.

 


Hotel Transylvania

I wanted to give this one a fair shake because I know I have a bias against Adam Sandler because he is a horrible actor/director/producer/whatever. He was briefly funny in the nineties but looking back he wasn’t really that funny. His movies have grown dumber and more mean-spirited as has anything that has come from his production company. Still, I heard that this was the exception so I felt like it was worth a shot. Besides, the concept appealed to me. The first thing I noticed is how fluid the animation is and how interesting the character models are. I also like the story being told from the monster’s perspective even if that’s been done before (see Aaah Real Monsters, Nightmare Before Christmas, etc.) Of course it should be pretty decent as it was directed by Genndy Tartakovksy who was involved in like half of my childhood. Overall it was a prettty cute movie that had some good laughs in it. Everybody did a good job and besides a few dull moments it was a good movie. I’m glad I gave it a shot.

 


John Wick

I think Keanu Reeve gets too much of a bad rap from people. Maybe it’s because he has a distinctive acting style he almost always uses (which doesn’t hurt Bruce Willis or Christopher Walken). I think it is probably because he was pushed too hard on the public and the market was oversaturated with Keanu. Whatever the case may be, I decided to check out his “comeback” film because people raved that it was “actually good!” I liked him in the Matrix movies (even if they were poorly written), Constantine and The Devil’s Advocate. John Wick is pretty good. It’s a revenge film so a lot of it is Keanu rampaging through bad guys. The action scenes kind of remind me of Shoot ‘Em Up mixed with Taken but that’s not a bad thing. The movie moves along at a good pace once it gets started and there’s definitely some subtle humor at work. The only real problems I have with the movie is that there’s an overly artsy opening and that everybody talks so softly. Other than that, it’s worth watching once it kicks into gear.

 

Awesome Links:

Pinched
Last Week Tonight: Mental Illness
Remote Kontrol – Dubstep
Markiplier – A Touching Return
Immortal – All Shall Fall

 

Updates:

– Four Halloween reviews posted, twelve to go.
– I’m liking Bones season 10 so far
– Supernatural Season 10 has dropped on Netflix!
– There’s a billion movies in theaters that I want to see this weekend
– Dean Winters is an underrated actor
– Another season of Rick and Morty is done. I am sad.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

