Media Update 10/22/2015


The Martian

So I first heard of this movie (and book) when I saw a poster in the lobby of the now closed down Rotunda Theater. Matt Damon in a space suit, looks pretty cool. I vaguely remembered seeing some buzz online about the book so I said something to my Dad. My Dad ended up reading the book and telling me a little about it but not enough to really spoil anything. We saw the movie this week and it was great. I just had a big smile on my face through out a lot of the movie. The cast is phenomenal with Matt Damon, Donald Glover, Sean Bean, Sebastian Stan, Jessica Chastain, Jeff Daniels and so many more. The movie just clicks along from the very start with great pacing, direction, beautiful cinematography, acting and pretty much everything else. Hell. it almost felt real at times and although my suspension of disbelief is super strong, that’s still high praise. Go check it out.


American Horror Story: Hotel

Next up, I was sitting around after work and I mentioned to my mother that I needed to watch some Halloween stuff for my blog. I meant movie reviews for the remainder of the month but she had something else in mind. She had heard about the hype of American Horror Story and saw that I had episode one of Season 5 on DVR. Each season is a contained story so she wasn’t missing anything by checking out the new season first. Having seen bits and pieces of seasons 1 and 3 I asked if she was sure that’s what she wanted to watch. We started it up and right away the art direction and cinematography were both beautfiul. However, pretty quickly the madness started and my mom was repulsed by how over the top the show is. The show really is like a non-stop train wreck. Everything is morbid and gory but you can’t look away. We watched the whole first episode which is about vampires in haunted hotel or something. It was good but we both said that was the last episode we would watch. It’s just too much.


Last Week Tonight

I mentioned how much I love the Daily Show. It’s a show that is funny while being surprisingly informative for a comedy show. The host of Last Week Tonight (John Oliver) got his start as a correspondent on the Daily Show. When Jon Stewart took a three month hiatus, Oliver took over as host. This led to him getting a show of his own that I originally thought would be like the Daily Show. It ended up being like the Daily Show in that it is a comedy show that focuses on the news and has a social conscience. However, it’s a lot more laser-focused than the Daily Show as it focuses on one issue and researches the hell out of it. By focusing on an issue he can refer to multiple stories to create a sort of thirty minute essay on how we should be better as a species. I love the show and I watch it every Monday morning.

Cool Links of the Week:

Longbox of the Damned: Puppet Master #1 – 3
Kryst the Conqueror – Dr. Phibes Rises Again
Conventional
Even Stevphen – Halloween
Werewolves! – Starring Felicia Day, Mark Fischbach and Kate Miccuci
Weekly Thoughts and Updates:

– The latest Star Wars trailer made me smile. “Chewie, we’re home.”
– I just found out that there’s actually a Doctor Who ripoff starring Peter Cushing
– I saw a trailer for another stupid haunted doll movie
– I already finished iZombie Season 1
– I finished The Flash season 2 and man it was good
– If you’ve been living under a rock, yesterday was Oct 21, 2015
– It was heavy, Doc.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

