Media Update 12/3/2015


Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt. 2

So my Dad and I met up on Sunday and fully intended to go and see Spectre at the Senator Theater. The Senator is still my favorite movie theater followed by the (now closed) Rotunda and the Hunt Valley Regal. Unfortunately, Spectre was sold out and on a whim we decided to watch Mockingjay instead in the big theater. We sat down just as the movie was starting but I don’t think we missed anything. What I *was* missing was seeing every other movie in the series. Now, I read the first book so I wasn’t completely lost but there was obviously a lot I had missed. The movie depicts a very dark, post apocalyptic United States that is very close to being overthrown. There was a lot of interesting political intrigue and studies in what ptsd does to a person (especially the young). I thought all of the acting was great and the movie was shot really well. The pacing was a bit slow in places but the story, although a bit predictable, was interesting to watch. I have to give special tips of the hat to Natalie Dormer, Donald Sutherland, Josh Hutcherson and Jennifer Lawrence. It made me want to go back and watch the other films (minus the first one, I guess).


Taxi Brooklyn

I decided to check this series out since it shares a castmember with Supergirl. The show is about a gung ho Brooklyn detective (Chyler Leigh) who is forced to rely on the skils and transportation of a French-born taxi driver (Jacky Ido). You might recognize this as the loose plot from Taxi, the horrible Jimmy Fallon/Queen Latifah film. It’s not related to that. It is instead related to a 1998 French film from Luc Besson. This show deals with human emotion and how a city lives and breathes. Chyler Leigh does a great job as a guarded and antisocial cop who was thrust into the spotlight reluctantly. It’s hard to expect anything else after seeing her on Supergirl. Jacky Ido often steals the show as a charismatic, touchy feely and extremely intelligent taxi driver. The show is a pretty good procedural with a few comic touches and a non-stop kind of feeling. It’s only 12 episodes so I’ll probably watch the whole thing.


Fallout 3

I definitely feel more comfortable writing about this game now that I’ve finished the main story. Also, I’m playing it at a time that everybody is playing the sequel. From what I can gather, the world of the game is eternally stuck in 1961 because that’s when the Chinese infiltrated and bombed the United States. You emerge from a sealed vault northwest of what was once Washington DC and try to survive. Many things are different from our Washington DC but all of the important landmarks are there and it’s creepy to walk past it all and see it completely rekt. The world has become a pretty nasty but simple place where you try to survive roving raiders, irradiated animals, super mutants and the politics of native armies trying to prove their superiority. You have the choice to be a good guy, a bad guy and everything in between. As a friend of mine wisely said, the fun in the game comes from exploring. Even after finishing the main story and hitting the level cap I’m still finding new areas. The game doesn’t spoon feed you all of the plot either, it lets you discover bits and pieces from journal entries and dialogue choices. The gameplay is really good too once you get used to it. The only caveat I have is that the game is really dark (both emotionally and also it’s hard to see sometimes).

Links of the Week:
Lindsey Stirling – Roundtable Rival
Llamas with Hats (Thanks Abe!)
Heat Vision and Jack
Hell’s Bells (1929)
Canceled Avengers Game 

Updates:
– Peter Jackson will direct an episode of Doctor Who
– I realize I still need to see SPECTRE
– But Krampus comes out this weekend…
– Jessica Jones is so, so good (Yes I got the title wrong last week)
– Twin Peaks kind of craps out a certain point
– Fran Bow is a weird, weird game

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

