Media Update 12/10/2015


Soaked in Bleach

I have to admit something to you, dear reader. I love conspiracies. I don’t really believe in any conspiracies (other than criminal conspiracies proved by law enforcement) but it’s fun to read the thought processes of conspiracy theorists. One of the biggest conspiracy theories of my generation is the one surrounding the death of Kurt Cobain. I was devastated when Cobain died as I was a pretty big Nirvana fan and I felt that they were really just hitting their stride when Cobain died. It was always spoken among Nirvana fans that Courtney Love had Cobain killed and sold it as a suicide. We didn’t want to believe that somebody talented and famous would commit suicide. I always regarded it as wishful thinking since that story would make things right somehow. Now they release this documentary and I’m convinced that the investigation should be reopened. There are just two many questions and they should be officially answered.

Men in Black 3
I really liked Men in Black. It was a classy little movie that capitalized on a skyrocketing Will Smith clashing with the tone of Tommy Lee Jones. It pulled that familiar trick of showing us a hidden world just out of our sight. It was also a surprisingly touching movie for an action/comedy/sci-fi film especially one made in the nineties. The sequel kind of felt like it removed a lot of the charm and kind of just through a bland plot with bland characters together. So it was with a little wariness that I finally decided to check out the third film. I was pleasantly surprised because they seemed to bring back just about everything that made the first one good. Will Smith felt like he was on point and committed to the movie and he was really funny. Josh Brolin was a great replacement for Tommy Lee Jones who had a few great scenes himself. Jermain Clement almost stole the show with a corny but great villain to rival D’Onofrio’s turn in the first film. It was funny, interesting and surprisingly touching once again. I’m glad I put the second movie behind me and checked this one out.

Into the Badlands

So the constant trailers and promos looked really good for Into the Badlands so I decided I needed to check it out. I like world-building television shows and the world they created looked really ambitious during the commercials. The show is really beautiful. Whoever is designing the costumes, sets, props and casting for the show, all of those people are doing their job right. The world is indeed expansive and I love discovering new crumbs of information about how their society works and what made it that way. The fight sequences are among some of the best I’ve seen, especially for a television show. A lot of them are like a mix between Hong Kong action moves and anime. All of the acting is right on target. For the most part, the actors embody interesting characters in a very visceral way. The only problem I have is that some of the writing is boring. The central plots are interesting but they sometimes get lost in boring sideplots about double-dealing family members. It’s a small complaint in a pretty good show.
Links of the Week:
Lord of the Rings Mythology Explained
Greendale Community College Commercials
Inspector Spacetime
X-Ecutioners (w/ Linkin Park) – It’s Going Down
360 Degree Nintendo

Updates:
-Anybody who apologizes for or feels bad for Kilgrave should never talk to me
– I finished Jessica Jones and I want more already
– Gorillaz and David Bowie might be working together. Yes!
– I’m kind of tired of the Minions and I haven’t even seen the movie
– Why is Netflix promoting The Ridculous Six? It looks ridiculously horrible
– I’m excited for the Star Wars hype to end

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

