Media Update 12/17/2015


Machete

I finally got around to watching Machete because it showed up on television and DVR’d it. I’ve been a Robert Rodriguez fan since I first saw Desperado and From Dusk Till Dawn. I read his book about the making of Mariachi and then watched Mariachi and really liked it. I’ve liked pretty much everything he’s done which includes the Spy Kids series (but not Sharkboy and Lava girl. Yuck). When he made the joke Machete trailer for Grindhouse I laughed and moved on. Rodriguez discovered Danny Trejo but the thought of him starring in a film was kind of a laughable idea. I was right. Trejo looks like a badass but has zero charisma which may have been the point. It’s like Grumpy Cat in human form rampaging through some area of Texas or whatever. They did a pretty good job covering up the weaknesses of the movie with explosions, slick action and brutal deaths. Robert Deniro and Steven Seagal add a little comedy but they’re barely there long enough to deliver a punchline. This is a good movie to put on in the background while you do something else.


Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Netflix originals have served me well. Like I said at some point, I have watched less and less actual television and more Netflix and Youtube. When Tina Fey left Saturday Night Live I was curious. I checked out 30 Rock and I was pretty much instantly in love with it. It was hard to believe that somebody who wrote for Saturday Night Live could create something that consistantly funny. When 30 Rock ended I wondered what Fey and her cast would do next. I heard that Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt was good but I never got around to it until now. Like most things, I now wish that I had gotten to it earlier. The show is very tightly written, well-acted and very funny. More than that, the positive energy of the lead (Ellie Kemper) is contagious and leaves me with a good feeling even after the episode is over. Jane Krakowski is once again brilliant as a woman so rich she’s lost touch with reality. Tituss Burgess is an interesting and funny gay wannabe actor/singer whose cynicism is constantly challenged by Kimmy. The show is just really good.


Marvel Universe Live

For weeks I’ve been waiting for a surprise Early Christmas/Early Birthday gift from my brother Alex. I was really touched that he went through such efforts to plan something for me. He kept it secret and I enjoyed the mystery and not knowing where in the hell we were going. Last Sunday he finally sprung the surprise as scheduled and I was intrigued when he showed me the above trailer. I’m a huge comic book fan and lately Marvel is my go to company. We headed down to the Royal Farms Arena and I was immediately impressed by what I could see of the set. I also got a detailed program and a whole graphic novel full of several characters’ origin stories. The show started and we were blown away. That trailer did not do the show justice. There was projections, explosions, combat, motorcycle stunts, wire work and great voice acting. It was kind of like being in a Power Rangers episode. They did such a great job of weaving the general feel of the movies with the comic books and kind of creating their own thing. I highly suggest checking it out because it was definitely totally awesome.

Links of the Week:
Youtube Rewind 2015
Regifting with Jon Oliver
The Blue Jean Committee – Catalina Breeze
Justin Tucker – Ave Maria
Behind the Scenes – Emmet Otter’s Jug-band Christmas

Weekly Updates:
– I’m sick of the Jar Jar is a sith theories. It’s dumb.
– I am feeling a little Star Wars excitement though
– I purchased Ant-Man and I’ll finally get to watch it
– It looks like due to limited seating I will not see SPECTRE in theaters
– Probably won’t see Creed in theaters either
– Christmas is coming. Hell, Christmas is here.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

