Media Update 1/7/2016


The Hateful Eight

 

I got up early (for a Saturday) and checked this one out with some friends down at the Columbia Mall. It’s one of those movie theaters with very little character but at least I was among friends to check out a Quentin Tarantino movie. I really, really don’t want to spoil this movie because I encourage you to go see it. The run time was long but none of it felt like too much and the movie never dragged. From shot one this movie was absolutely beautiful. It sucked you in and made you feel like you were right there in the room. The dialogue is colorful, to say the least, so don’t go in and get shocked. It is Tarantino after all. The dialogue is so good because the characters are so good. Every single one of them is exactly what they needed to be. Do yourself a favor and check this one out.

Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Once again, I’ll mention that Batman (1989) was a major waypoint in my development as a kid. So when I heard that there was going to be a movie that starred Michael Keaton that touched upon his past as the first big screen Batman I was excited. I never saw it in theaters because it was a hard sell as most people I know didn’t seem to want to go see it. So, like many of these movies, I let it slip out of the theaters. Finally I saw it on DVD and I’m still reeling. The movie was absolutely not what I was expecting but that ended up being OK. The movie is a drama about an actor trying to prove to the world that he’s not just a fluke. He starred in several superhero movies but now he’s trying to direct and star in a play on Broadway. Two of the biggest waypoints in my pop culture development collding: Theater and Batman. The cast is phenomenal with Michael Keaton, Ed Norton and Emma Stone especially killing it. It was compelling and I was left struggling, searching for more afterward. Great movie but I think I was definitely part of the target audience.

The Shannara Chronicles

Wait, did I just watch a new fantasy television series on MTV? Yes I did. I haven’t watched MTV for at least a decade mostly because it stopped showing neat cartoons. I was a little shocked when they started a huge marketing campaign for a new series full of elves, demons and the world of man. I watched the first two episodes and it is very, very interesting. I had not realized that the series is a post-apocalyptic one but, unless I missed something, It is not clear whether it is Earth. Magic was a thing then it was gone and now it’s back again with a vengeance. I got the same feeling from watching the pilot that I got from the Defiance pilot. I hope that it can be on part with that show because then we’re in for a good ride. There are a lot of interesting characters and beautiful imagery. I’m going to keep checking it out.
Links of the Week:
Ben Klein – Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
The Electric Mayhem – Kodachrome
Giant Squid Footage
L7 – Pretend That We’re Dead
Nathan Barnatt – Dr. Robotnik Dance
Weekly Update:
– Flash Season 2 is really great
– I like Arrow Season 4 so far
– The season finale of Ash vs. Evil Dead was perfection
– Pretty Deadly (comic) is so beautiful and awesome
– Mythbusters is over. That’s so sad.
– Started listening to Welcome to Nightvale again

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

