Interview Questions

There is a certain class of questions which I call interview questions although I suppose they could also be questions used in a show like The Dating Game.  They are designed to reveal something about your personality and thought processes while being really weird.  I thought I’d post some that I had to answer recently.  If I find some other fun questions I might do this again.  It’s good practice and it’s really fun to come up with the answers.

 

Do you prefer a good book or a good movie?

Although I love a good movie (and sometimes a bad one), I prefer a good book. A good book is a more intimate and personal experience. The images, sounds and memories the written word can evoke are unique to each person who reads a book. I carry with me memories of every good book I’ve ever read which adds to my life experience. We can learn from fictional characters and, in the case of autobiographies, real people through books in a more thorough way than a movie provides.

 

Would you rather be a tree or a flower. Why?

I would rather be a tree. A tree is strong and usually not as delicate as a flower. Trees live for centuries if they are undisturbed. They provide shade and oxygen for human beings although I suppose that wouldn’t be my concern anymore once I was a tree.

 

Which mode of transportation do you prefer between trains, planes or automobiles? Why?

I love a good train ride. There’s a lot of freedom on a train that you just don’t get on other modes of transportation. You are free to sit back and enjoy the ride and see the sites outside of your window. You are also free to get up and walk around or eat without stopping your trip’s progress. The ride is steady enough to read a book without getting carsick and sometimes there’s wifi to access the internet. You can easily divide your time between work and recreation as needed. In a car you have to do all the work and planes are now swamped with security and feel far too cramped.

 

If you were a piece of candy, what kind of candy would you be? Why?

I would be a peep. Peeps are such a polarizing candy because most people I talk to either love them or despise them. I happen to like the texture and taste of them though I only eat them maybe twice a year because of their extremely high sugar content. If I’m going to be eaten, I would want it to be by somebody who is really going to look forward to it and enjoy it.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

