Media Update 2/4/2016


Creed

I never really liked the Rocky movies all that much. I mean, I liked them well enough but they aren’t anywhere near the top of my list. Rocky 4 is somewhere near the top of my bad movie list though because a lot of it is so goofy and cheesy that it’s great. All of that aside, I’m pretty well versed in Rocky lore because of my trivia sponge brain. The first thing this movie solves for me is that I don’t really like Sylvester Stallone in most things. He has a diminished but very important role and spends most of it as comic relief. I suddenly really liked Stallone for the first time since Demolition Man. Phylicia Rashad does a great turn as a very sympathetic and inspiring character. Tessa Thompson blew me away as Bianca and by the end of the movie I wanted to just hang out and talk with her character. Michael B. Jordan was so great as Adonis and I think he was robbed of an Oscar nomination. The movie was shot so beautifully too. I laughed, I cried and I had to keep myself from cheering at times. It was such a great movie.


Electric Boogaloo: The Wild, Untold Story of Cannon Films

Now, I used to be in show business and so I love hearing about the process of putting a play or movie together. It’s not about seeing the sausage get made for me because I have already been involved in making the sausage. This movie is great if you want to see inside the mind of a Hollywood producer. The really interesting part is that this a look inside the minds of two of Hollywood’s most insane producers, both of which are also directors. Menahalem Golan and Yorim Globus created Cannon Films which created some of the craziest movies, most of which were genre or exploitation films. They also produced way more movies per year than the average movie studio. Eventually they burned out and succumbed to massive debt after they overextended themselves. The documentary is really fun and they managed to interview a huge amount of celebrities and film professionals. I was intrigued from start to finish.


Atlantis: The Lost Empire

In my quest to catch up on all the Disney animated films that I have missed, I decided to give Atlantis a shot. I had never really heard too much about this one from anyone but I remember the posters and promotional material. The first thing that was readily apparent was that there are no musical numbers in this one. They focus more on action sequences than musical numbers which is different but not necessarily bad. I love most Disney songs and they really help a good movie to become great. So let’s set that aside. The movie is a period piece set in 1914 with some great actors in Michael J. Fox, James Garner and Leonard Nimoy. The movie was fun and interesting although I feel that it took a while to really get under my skin. The art and the linguistics involved in making it are truly inspiring. The movie just didn’t do it for me like other Disney films. It’s worth watching on a bored afternoon but there are far better Disney films out there.

Links of the Week:
Mortal Kombat: What Happens If You Don`t Finish Him?
O’Keefe Music Foundation – Duality (Slipknot Cover)
Punxsutawney Phil 2016
Stitched Up Heart – Is This The Way You Get to Hell?
There Be Monsters

Weekly Updates:
– They took the first episode of X-Files off of on demand so…
– I just wrote a review for my annual Halloween celebration
– Deadpool and Hail Caesar out soon!
– Still gearing up for the A to Z Blogging Challenge
– I feel like I’m a Community cast member lately
– I love Uncle Deadly on the new Muppets show

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

