Media Update 2/11/2016


Legends of Tomorrow

I’ve gone on record at least three times now about how much I love the CW/DC Comics television shows. Arrow and The Flash are always interesting and are great at weaving the material from the comics into a new narrative that makes sense. Their supporting cast has always been top notch as well. So now they’ve taken parts of the supporting cast of both shows and made a new show with them. It’s also got time travel and Arthur Darvill of Doctor Who fame which are definite plusses. The show is very interesting as we get more time to dive into these side characters and see what makes them tick. I especially love the exploration of Dr. Stein who is expertly played by Victor Garber. I really enjoy Captain Cold from The Flash as well since, like his comic counterpart, he is a criminal with a personal code of honor. We’re not too far in and people are already starting to grow past the boxes I placed them in. The arrival of this show really kind of further merges Arrow and The Flash and creates one big show. I’m excited to see the universe fleshed out more.


Mr. Robot

This series is astonishing. We all wear masks and we all lie a little to ourselves to get through life. For example, we tell ourselves that one politician is better than another when corporations are controlling both. We gladly go into debt so that we can have a better future while still being crushed under that debt for most of our life. Ok, this is getting dark. However, that is the point because this show is pretty dark because it does not sugar coat anything. It follows a young cybersecurity expert/hacker who is caught between saving the world and smashing the status quo. It is a great character study about someone who is mentally ill but also may see the world clearer than any of us. I don’t want to give away too much but it’s a great watch. I would suggest not watching it all in one straight shot because man is it a little depressing.


Bojack Horseman

I can’t believe I haven’t talked about this show yet. I didn’t watch it for the first time recently but I have rewatched it since and shown it to people. I first heard about Bojack while listening to Harmontown on my headphones at the gym. While trying not to grin and laugh in public on the treadmill, somebody came up and gave an elevator pitch on this show they were working on. It sounded weird but rather run of the mill so I totally forgot about it because on paper the show didn’t really grab me. The show is set in a world where humans and anthropomorphic animals live side by side. Bojack is a literal horse man who used to be a sitcom star but has since fallen into alcoholism and self-loathing. As a cash grab he tries to write his memoirs through a ghost writer named Diane, a human. Through the process and his relationships with his friends he starts to examine his life anew. It’s equal parts deep, sad and funny. It also has a lot of satire and parody flavoring especially how it skewers bad sitcom writing in flashbacks. I definitely recommend checking it out.

Links of the Week: (All Music this week)
OneRepublic – Counting Scars feat. Disney Villains
Kevin Gates – Pride
Talking Heads – Road to Nowhere
Jukebox the Ghost – Hollywood
Motionless in White – Devil’s Night

Weekly Updates:
– I still have not seen Hail Caesar but soon
– Deadpool is soon and I hope it will be good as all the promotional stuff
– There’s so much I want to watch and less time for it
– Daniel Bryan retired. I kind of cried.
– Heading to Magfest next week
– Watching so much Mythbusters lately
– Also Law and Order: SVU

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

