Felix Graham: Osaka Adventure 5

Felix Osaka

The car ride was pretty quiet. Nobody really wanted to talk in front of the newcomer. Jun was nice enough and Felix felt kind of bad for her. Just a little while ago he was the newcomer and he felt he had gotten a little flak from Makoto. Jun getting the silent treatment and all the objections in front of her father was probably too much. Still, everybody was briefed and on the same page so there was not much to talk about.

They arrived in the neighborhood of the first group of addresses. Members of the Tengu were ordinary aware people and these were ordinary houses and apartments. Sure they might have an extra room or two not accounted for on the building plans but even that was pretty ordinary. The car pulled over and stopped by the curb and May shut the engine off. May was the first person to move toward her door but Makoto stopped her.

“You are with me, May-san. We shall go door to door and we find a lead no matter what. Ren, you are on overwatch. Let nobody see you. I know that you can accomplish this. The Doctor and the Lion Cub will stay put here in the car until further notice.” Makoto said. She pulled some sort of short iron rod from the center console. She turned around to look at Felix and Jun in the backseat but her eyes were unfocused as if she was looking at something else.

“Excuse me, Makoto. I am supposed to help you gather intelligence and eliminate this threat from Osaka. Would I not be of more use knocking on doors? Perhaps with the Doctor or I could pair with you.” Jun asked. She was very rigid and direct. This was obviously behavior that had been drilled into her by Sentinel training. In contrast, Makoto and Ren were stoic but somehow more relaxed. Felix felt that he and May were the same, able to be formal but generally causal people. That may have come from an American upbringing.

“You are still in uniform, Sargent. I do not want to scare anyone.” Makoto said and climbed out of the car without another word.

“Besides, we may need you as back up.” May said. “Just sit tight. I’m sure we’ll need you eventually. Keep her company, cousin.” Then May slipped out of the car herself. Ren was already just gone and Felix had not noticed at all.

Jun looked miffed although a stronger word might have been needed. It was harder for Felix to tell with somebody who kept their face so neutral. They sat on opposite sides of the back seat with Jun on the street side. Down the street, Felix could see May and Makoto walking up to the first door. From what he had seen of the list, it looked like there were quite a few houses in this area.

“So, you’re usually in the middle of the action?” Felix asked.

“No.” Jun answered. “My father has made sure that if I am not filing then I am on safe but prominent assignments and details. ” She sighed and watched out the window, here eyes following May and Makoto’s movements.

“I’m used to only being there just after the damage has been done.” Felix said.

“You are a healer, correct?” Jun asked.

Felix nodded. “I am strictly a healer. I have no training in combat and, so far, no experience in investigation.”

“No experience? No experience at all?” Jun asked with a very slight but still existent smile.

“Well, I am an avid reader. I used to sell comic books but once I became aware I started to read about Legends and aware history as well. I’ve learned a lot but mostly because I love a good story. I’ve learned a lot but mostly because I love a good story.”

“They are not all good stories. Some of them are very boring.” Jun said.

“Not really the case for Legends or at least that’s what I’m finding so far.”

“How long have you been a Legend?”

“Less than a week. I worked in a hospital in a pocket dimension below Baltimore before this.”

“What was it like? Being called?”

“Everything was suddenly very clear. I felt a huge surge of power and I was able to pull my patient back from the edge of death. I just knew what I was supposed to do.”

“I am envious.” Jun said softly. It looked like she was a little embarrassed by it.

“It can be a burden too. You can’t have a normal life.” Felix said. He was not upset about that, it was just a truth of the life.

“Who wants a normal life anyway?” Jun asked and Felix found himself smiling.

“Fair enough.” Felix said.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

