Media Update 3/3/2016


American Crime Story: The People vs. OJ Simpson

I had reached the tender age of twelve when the verdict was read at the end of the OJ Simpson murder trial. Since there was no Baltimore team, I did not care about OJ being a football player but I had liked him well enough in the Naked Gun series. Still, I remember everybody saying how guilty he must be and I remember Saturday Night Live making fun of the dream team. I remember watching the trial in school too. Still, I wasn’t with it enough to really follow the evidence and all of the proceedings to determine whether he was guilty or not. So there’s a mix of discovery and nostalgia watching the show. I know the show can’t be a hundred percent true but it covers a great mix of legend and truth surrounding the trial. John Travolta’s acting and makeup are truly horrible on the show and clearly they should have gotten somebody else. Everybody else is passable so far but Sarah Paulson, Cuba Gooding Jr. and Courtney B. Vance are exceptional at acting like real people instead of caricatures. I would suggest watching it if you’re interested in legal procedure, the media and a semi-fictional historical account.


Tomorrowland

I had high hopes for this movie. The trailer was amazing and made me wonder what this movie could be about while feeling nostalgic for older Disney days. I like George Clooney and all the visuals for the movie looked pretty spot on. I did not see it in theaters and I was disappointed when I got reports that it was not very good. It was deemed 50% fresh by Rotten Tomatoes so I was curious to see if it was really that bad. The movie was not what I imagined it was and that immediately intrigued me. The only complaint I had was that the movie was a little too long. At over two hours the pacing started to feel too slow and that could have been tightened up. Other than that, I liked the comedy and I liked the play between the three main characters a lot. Hugh Laurie was an excellent villain but there was enough gray area to make you think. The movie started out with problems that make you despair and left off with hope which is a great message to put out there. In the end, the movie was pretty good and I liked it. While I don’t outright recommend it, I would say not to be scared of it.

Looper

I felt like watching this movie was inevitable. I had heard so many people talking it up that I would eventually have to watch it and either agree with the crowd or dislike it. Of course, this was oversimplifying things because neither thing happened. I’m not exactly a fan of science fiction and I was trying to figure out why after watching this movie. I think it’s that most science fiction is grim and depressing while most science fantasy is more hopeful and happy. I usually side with science fantasy and this movie had a lot of science fantasy elements but it was definitely grim and a bit sad. The movie drags in places but is overall a pretty good movie. It is certainly a messy movie and I feel like they tried to plug in a few too many sci-fi elements that muddied the water perhaps so they could do a few more special effects. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a great protagonist although they could have done with the awkward prosthetics to make him look like Bruce Willis. Willis himself was pretty good as he’s best with roles where he can grumpily chastise or shoot people. Overall I actually wouldn’t recommend seeing it except to certain people and they have already seen it.

Links of the Week:
BABYMETAL – KARATE
Steve Vai – Ya-yo Gakk
Political Correctness Doesn’t Censor
Lorde – Life on Mars (Bowie Cover)
Hevisaurus – Saurusarmeija

Weekly Updates:
– I did not watch the Oscars
– I need to see Spotlight though
– I agree with all the Mad Max and Revenant wins
– The Oscars need more diversity obviously
– Still don’t care about Batman v. Superman
– I also want to see The Big Short
– Gonna grab the NSP Under the Covers album

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

