Interview Questions 3

These are actual interview questions I lifted off of the internet. All three of them were reported by Business Insider and Glassdoor.

What do you think of lava lamps? And Dilbert?

I actually think of both in about the same way. A lava lamp is something to look at and zone out. I can feel very zen as I watch the bubbles and colors shift and move over and over in endless cycles. It’s totally mindless and I think that is the appeal. Of course, a lava lamp feels like it is an outdated decoration and is a little tacky now. Dilbert is much the same. It is a mindless collection of colors that makes me zone out when I read it. The jokes are not funny and the characters are impossible to connect with. It is robotic and negative and not really how I want to see my work environment.

What is your favorite color?

Back in the day, I would have probably said black just to be difficult. I was the gothiest non-goth that ever was a teenager. As I got older I would have been more pedantic and would have pointed out that black is not a color, it is the absence of color. Before I was a teenager and now I have the same answer. My favorite color is blue. Just a straight up, rich cobalt blue. I know that sounds kind of boring but that is half the point. That color just makes me feel more serene and serene can be a great thing. It’s the color of the sky on a perfect day, preferably with white puffy clouds blocking direct sunlight.

What were you like as a child?

I was a quiet kid. I was an awkward person in my youth and I still have a few vestiges of that. When my brothers and any carpool regulars were causing a ruckus, I was the one who just sat silently on the way to school. That started when I was a baby and in the hospital on the day that I was born, I did not cry. Instead, I just stared at my mother like a Child of the Corn. I was always thinking and unfortunately, that led to social anxiety. I was so worried about crowds, meeting new people and public speaking that I often would hide from it. These days I am still scared but when I have to I do it anyway. I am much better at talking and getting to know people than I used to be.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

