Media Update 3/10/2016


Lucifer

This was another suggestion from my friends and after seeing a couple advertisements for it, I was definitely intrigued. Christian mythology can often be a lot of fun, especially when you get into the more obscure or esoteric sections of it that you won’t hear in Sunday school. The Devil has always fascinated me. Now, I am not saying that I am a devil worshipper or anything. The whole myth of the fallen angel definitely struck a chord with me. This Lucifer is of the beautiful, silver-tongued variety. He’s glib, inquisitive, thoughtful and really funny a lot of the time. He is arrogant but is it arrogance if you really are better than most people around you? There is a deeper mythology of the show that I am just starting to discover and I am thrilled about it. The show has a lot of charisma and humor but still explores some interesting thoughts. I can’t wait to see more of this.


Journey to the Center of the Earth

I kind of fell into watching this movie. I did not really want to watch it but, dang it, Brendan Fraser is such a charismatic actor that it is hard to say no to him. I was looking on Netflix for things I wanted to watch and in the meantime I had the television on and this movie popped up on screen. I had passed it by when it came out because it looked fairly bland and I am too cool for school sometimes when it comes to big budget blockbusters. The movie was indeed fairly bland. However, it had enough interesting moments and ideas that it kept pulling my focus away from other things. A huge part of that is Brendan Fraser who is an actor I have pretty much always liked. He may be in some bad movies but he always seems to be trying his best. Maybe watch this one while you’re doing something else like I did.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

So a lot of people raved about this show and now that I have watched a couple seasons, I can tell why. The show actually reminds me a little bit of Seinfeld in that it stars a core cast of characters who are horrible people getting into horrible situations. However, where I hate Seinfeld, I really like Always Sunny. The actors are way funnier, more charismatic and the characters they portray are still horrible people. The writing is compelling and instead of cringing and turning off the television, I want to know what happens next. The cast, writers and crew are great at thinking up bigger and better ways to screw things up every season (in a good way). Of course, some of it is not really for the faint of heart as the show can get pretty dark. Still, it’s worth taking a look at if you like a little darkness in your comedy.

Links of the Week:
Wintergatan – Marble Machine
BoyinaBand – Don’t Stay in School
Focus – Hocus Pocus
Web Design
Mythbusters Creamer Cannon

Weekly Updates:
– I really want to see Zootopia
– I haven’t been to the theater in a long while
– The Ghostbusters trailer is not great
– Mythbusters ended and I was sad
– Some personal things going on but I’m ok
– I watched a grown man feed another man mayo this week

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Media Update 3/10/2016”

  1. Lise Mendel Says:

    I’m also sad about Mythbusters.

    I haven’t watched the others, but Lucifer is fun. I’ve never thought of the Devil as a rebellious teenager before, but now I can’t watch this show with any other thought in my mind. Given that it’s based on a Gaiman comic book I expect there’s more to his character somewhere, but I haven’t seen it yet, and the other supernatural entities around have a totally different vibe…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

