Media Update 3/24/2016


The Raven

I was told that this movie wasn’t very good. It was not the kind of thing I would see in theaters but I always thought I would watch it. One of the many drums I repeatedly beat on in this blog is that I am a Baltimore boy born and raised. Baltimore is deep in my heart and I will always look to Charm City for the rest of my life. I almost watched this movie around last Halloween but I do like to ration a little spookiness throughout the year. Poe is especially a legend in Baltimore so I was interested to see a period murder mystery in the vein of his stories. The movie does an excellent job touching on a lot of his best works, especially the stories that involved murder (which is most of them). John Cusack is excellent as Poe himself, an alcoholic writer who constantly scraped for a living. The movie is a fun set of murder mysteries with a lot of dark and brooding charm. It also involves the last day of Edgar Allen Poe which is still one of my favorite mysteries. Don’t be afraid to check this one out.


Rise of the Guardians

Since we’re just a few days away from Easter, I thought I would finally check out Rise of the Guardians. To my surprise, I find that the movie is set in the days before Easter and Easter itself which I promise you I did not plan. I am not the biggest Dreamworks fan but I am a fan of alternate, bad ass interpretations of holiday figures. It’s an obscure fandom but I can dig it. The movie is surprisingly sweet and touching. I really need to stop saying this about Dreamworks/Disney movies because I say it almost every time. The movie is pretty exciting as it has a lot of almost anime-style magical combat scenes with very fluid animation. The movie also has a lot to say about belief, the eyes of a child and how knowledge of self is essential to how you live your life. The movie surprised me in places but also hit just the notes I was expecting at other points but that’s fine. It’s not the best-animated movie by far but it’s a great watch especially during the holiday season. That includes a lot of seasons.


A Fist Full of Dollars

I love a solid Western with the right tone and the right amount of action and character development. The imagery of the Old American West just lends it to really good movies. Though, when it comes down to the competition between Clint Eastwood and John Wayne, I will always pick Clint Eastwood. Clint Eastwood is a great actor and every movement and sound he made back in the day was important. He had the famous squint and a great, grizzled voice. His characters often minded their own business and were sucked into conflict like a wandering samurai. He almost never started the fight but he sure as hell was going to finish it. Add on the brilliant music of Ennio Morricone and some great direction and character work from the rest of the cast. This one was a movie I probably should have seen a long time ago. I don’t know what I was thinking but don’t make the same mistake I did and check this one out if you’re one of the few who hasn’t seen it.

Links of the Week:
Iron Maiden – Speed of Light
Celia Cruz – Guantanamera
Second Sound Barrier Trailer
Manic Street Preachers – Walk Me to the Bridge
Magic Sword – In The Face Of Evil

Weekly Updates:
– I’ve been glued to watching Lucifer this week
– The Peoplve vs. OJ was used as an incentive for homework
– I watch Last Week Tonight every week even when its on hiatus
– I’ve gotten back into the Daily Show
– I need to get away to see a movie in theaters
– I can’t wait until Batman v. Superman is out so I can ignore it easier

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

