Media Update 6/2/2016


X-Men: Apocalypse

It has taken me a little while to get my thoughts in order so I can talk about this movie. I have loved the X-Men film series since it began in 2000. The series knew right away what it wanted to be and, for the most part, it really hasn’t strayed from that. It does not hurt that a lot of the movies have been directed by Brian Singer who created a pretty bland Superman movie but creates decent X-Men movies. Adapting comic books into movies can be hard. Pretty much all of the X-Men movies have both elements that are awesome and elements that fall a little flat. For me, I really did not care for how they portrayed The Phoenix in X-Men: The Last Stand. However, stuff like Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine are awesome and now happily familiar. X-Men: First Class and Days of Future Past were awesome and shot a lot of energy back into the franchise by taking a slightly different angle. Days of Future Past changed the movie timeline and made anything possible (like recasting Colossus in Deadpool). It feels like they shoved a little too much into this one but it was a great effort. When they try to put too much into a movie, it feels like some characters are left without lines or truly defining moments and that’s a real shame. My favorite parts were Nightcrawler, Wolverine, Quicksilver and all of the little nods to the comics and cinematic continuity. The last battle was really awesome as well as it felt kind of like a good pro-wrestling match with plenty of high spots and false finishes. Overall it was a good movie even if it was not their best outing.


The Warriors

On a whim, I finally decided to watch this movie from beginning to end. I had seen clips before but I had never seen the whole thing all at once. The Warriors is a cult movie apparently because it caused a lot of trouble with real gang violence in theaters. The movie was a look at a possible “near future” version of 1980’s New York City which is overrun by gangs who outnumber the police. One gang pisses all of them off and has to make it through the city while being hunted by every gang in the city. It is a simple little story that is loosely based on an old tale about Greek soldiers caught behind Persian lines. From beginning to end, the movie is dark but has a little bit of a playful nature to it because of some slightly cheesy (and sometimes very cheesy) acting. The gangs are also designed to each have their own motifs, including stuff like facepaint and psychotic costuming. In some ways, the movie is kind of set in a New York that is a little more like Road Warrior or Escape From New York than the real New York City. The movie is also kind of hard to predict as characters do a lot of things or have things done to them that I did not expect. Overall, it is a pretty good movie with decent but melodramatic late seventies acting and I definitely recommend it.


Heathers

Right away this movie was the most eighties thing on this list and X-Men made a point of constantly referencing Eighties touchstones. For me, Winona Ryder was a shining part of the eighties and nineties for me. Like Christina Ricci, she was the dark, gothy girl who got the outsider roles. I talked about this before. Seeing her name in the opening credits is a welcome sign. Add in Shannen Doherty and Christian Slater and we have a late eighties movie that is primed to make fun of a lot of eighties movies. This is a cult classic, I’m told, and it was time to watch it because I like a good dark comedy. I actually thought about saving this for Halloween but I am glad I did not because this did not have a Halloween feel. This is on the level of the later American Psycho. This is dark humor with a surreal sunniness that pokes a lot of fun at eighties culture and also at teen culture. What impressed me the most about this movie was all of the little touches and throwaway lines that made me laugh just as much as the in your face stuff. Winona Ryder and Christian Slater’s snarky insanity is really funny to watch amidst their clueless and heartless classmates. Christian Slater is almost doing more of a Jack Nicholson in Shining voice than normal but it works for his character. Overall, it was a great movie that was pretty funny and I definitely recommend it.

Links of the Week:
Silverchair – Freak
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll
David Bowie – I’m Afraid Of Americans
Selena Gomez & The Scene – Round & Round
Kevin Gates – Really Really

Weekly Updates:
– This week’s theme is “Set in the Eighties”
– I’m all caught up on Lost Girl. Wow, what a great show.
– All caught up on Kimmy Schmidt and it got even better
– Finished the first season of Person of Interest and it’s good
– All caught up on season five of Bob’s Burgers
– I tried to watch Aquarius on Netflix and… I don’t know
– The Game Grumps were on actual television? Cool.
– So much awesome stuff to watch and report on!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

