Media Update 6/16/2016


Seven Deadly Sins

I saw this pop on my Netflix feed and I thought that it sounded kind of interesting. “A princess finds a former knight at a pub and joins a quest to reunite his group of cavaliers in order to overthrow tyrants and restore the kingdom.” I immediately imagined a sort of animated fantasy Magnificent Seven and that sounded awesome. So I loaded it up and I was pleasantly surprised because it was immediately so much more than that. I love the colorful art style that sometimes clashes with the dark parts of the show. The show alternates between the wackiness of a One Piece and the drama of a Full Metal Alchemist and it does it really smoothly. The fight scenes have all been awesome and I have really fallen in love with just about every character. There are a lot of mysteries that are slowly unfolding and providing interesting twists and turns but in a very casual, natural way. The show manages to be legitimately funny which is quite a feat as most animes have a culture gap that makes them less funny to me. This might be my new favorite anime and Diane might be my new favorite anime character.


Yo-kai Watch

When I was in high school, Level 5 released a little thing called Pokemon and my video game life was changed forever. Those little pocket monsters were fun to catch and battle and the franchise continues to be pretty awesome. The video game and card game exploded in popularity in Japan and then the rest of the world. The anime premiered in the United States and I was hooked on that too. It gave me the perfect visual reference points to think about while I played the game since the game did not have the best graphics. Now, Level 5 has apparently hit gold again and released the Yo-Kai Watch series of games in Japan and those games and the new anime are just now hitting our shores. This show is different from Pokemon in a lot of ways but also strangely familiar. First, the “monsters” in the show are Yokai which are actual creatures from Japanese folklore. These creatures do not do battle with each other. At least they don’t usually do battle with each other. In the five episodes I have seen so far, there is only one yokai that likes to do battle and it sucks at it. Instead, the yokai often have psychological effects on people or other yokai. Yokai are friends, not slaves and help the protagonist out willingly and continuing their daily routine while not by his side. It makes for a little more common sense problem solving than actual combat and is kind of refreshing. The show is wonderfully weird and if you are a Pokemon fan, it’s definitely worth a shot.


Gurren Lagann

I wanted to check out Gurren Lagann because a couple of the Game Grumps announced that it was their favorite anime. I had no earthly idea what it was about but it was on Netflix and the character models looked pretty fun. They have kind of a fluid style that is very cartoony but still oddly real. I would say that Gurren Lagann is one part One Piece and one part G Gundam and maybe add a pinch of Dragonball. Go figure, all three of those shows are among my favorite anime series. The show follows two guys from an underground city who find things even crazier when they reach the surface. All of the characters are really interesting even though half of them are really wacky. Kamina is especially loveably wacky with his iconic line “Believe in the Kamina who believes in you!”. The show so far is ultimately about the power of positive thinking and how even the craziest plans can work if you just work together. I have not seen yet why somebody would call it their favorite but I can see why people would like it. I definitely recommend checking it out as it has awesome, epic moments.

Music of the Week:

Beartooth – Aggressive
Underworld – If Rah
The Kills – Doing It To Death
East Coast Avengers – Avengers Assemble
Voodoo Glow Skulls- Insubordination

Weekly Updates:
– I am almost done with season 2 of Person of Interest and it so much better than the pilot
– I started to watch Turn season 2 and there is Ksenia Solo in it!!
– Yet more of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries watched and it’s great
– I watched Ant-Man again and it was just as good the second time
– Finding Dory comes out and I’m interested
– I watched TNA again. What a dumpster fire.
– This week’s theme is “Anime”

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

