Media Update 7/28/2016


Limitless (TV Show)

I have seen at most five minutes of the movie that this show is based on. I got the basic concept that there is a neuroenhancer pill that allows a person to focus and remember things much easier. On a side note, I am glad that the show does not use the “10 percent of your brain” chestnut and instead talks about making connections in your brain fire faster and easier. You’re still using 100% of your brain, you are just more efficient. The show follows a burnt-out musician who gets a hold of the pill and uses his enhanced smarts to become an FBI consultant. There is a lot more to it but I do not want to spoil anything cool for you. I will say that one of my favorite parts of the show so far is the exploration of how your personality changes when you suddenly get smarter. It uses a lot of cool visual effects to visualize what increased processing speed and power might be like. It can also be really funny. I have to give a shout out to the star of the show Jake McDornan who gives a really cool performance as he almost plays two characters each episode. The show also has Jennifer Carpenter who you might remember from Dexter and she is awesome. Also, kudos to actually getting Bradley Cooper to cameo on the show a couple times. This is a good procedural with a science fiction twist. Check it out.


Dark Matter

I originally shied away from this show because its pedigree sounded very similar to Stargate Universe. Stargate Universe was dark and depressing while Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis were fun and adventurous. That is how I like my science fiction which often means that I am out of luck. Pure science fiction is often not very optimistic while fantasy tends to be a lot more hopeful. I finally decided to check this out because Wil Wheaton is involved. With the exception of The Big Bang Theory, I have loved everything that Wil has been involved with. I figured that it would not hurt to at least watch the first episode. The premise of the show is that a crew of people wake up from stasis on a spaceship only to discover that they do not know who they are. Their memories are almost completely wiped, leaving only instinct and sense memory to guide them. The show puts the characters in a conflict between who they are after the wipe and who they were before the wipe. The characters are all really charming and although there is a dark side to everything, the show is funny and light when it needs to be. The show also looks good and it feels like they are building a pretty rich world around the characters which we get to explore with them.  Check it out when you get a chance.


Equilibrium

I have had this movie on my Netflix queue for quite some time merely because Christian Bale is in it. Bale won me over during the Dark Night Trilogy and even further in American Psycho and the Prestige. I have a goal to watch all of Bale’s movies at some point so they are all on my list. In addition, this movie was supposed to have great visual effects. A lot of people call it a Matrix ripoff which would definitely be possible as it came out around three years after the Matrix. I disagree. The movie explores the dangers of putting logic too far ahead of emotion. The movie calls back to stories like 1984 and Fahrenheit 451. It is a dystopian future where sense and emotion are punishable by death. I was expecting a hard-hitting blockbuster like The Matrix but instead, the movie is pretty quiet and thoughtful. The movie is incredibly suspenseful and much of it explores how people can live hidden lives in a hostile world. The Gun Kata displayed in the movie is really fun and is kind of Hong Kong Action Movie levels of insane. The movie could have been a little better paced but I think it was done that way to unnerve the viewer. It is kind of hard to describe without spoiling the whole movie and I do not want to do that. This movie is worth watching.

Music of the Week:

The Clash – Straight To Hell

Queen Pen – Party Ain’t A Party

Muse – Psycho

Edna’s Goldfish – Veronica Sawyer

The Tubes – She’s A Beauty

 

Weekly Updates:
– I have been watching a lot of the RNC and DNC conventions this week
– I watched a truckload of Daily Show and Last Week Tonight as well
– I wish I could get to a movie theater
– The classes I am taking have me incredibly nervous and feeling like I need to buckle down
– Adulting is hard, yo
– This week’s theme is “The Mind in Science Fiction”
– I think I have some time before next semester to kick out the jams
– I really hope I do

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Media Update 7/28/2016”

  1. Miss Andi Says:

    Now you’ve made me want to watch Limitless and Dark Matter. Don’t I have enough on my watch list? :) Seriously though, great selection, thanks for sharing them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

