Media Update 8/4/2016


Sharknado 4: The Fourth Awakens

Yes, it is another Sharnado movie. This one did not seem to get the same hype as the third one. This movie would probably piss off a lot of my more science-minded friends. It is really, really stupid and if you think or question the movie too much you will immediately stop enjoying yourself. The franchise makes about as much sense as Jaws 4 and it’s best to just sit back and relax and enjoy the spectacle. This one gets even more ridiculous but I am all in because somehow the makers of these things know how to make a good bad movie. Once again, Ian Ziering carries the movie. He is just the right mix of everyman and corny action hero. He’s kind of a low-budget mix of Ash and John McClane. He’s joined once again by David Hasselhoff who actually puts in a pretty genuine performance. In fact, most characters play it pretty straight since they are all the straight men (and women) to the wackiness around them. Tara Reid returns yet again but this time she’s a weird cross between Iron Man and Robot Chicken’s version of Britney Spears. In any other movie, she would annoy me but she has been in the franchise since day one so you have to just accept her for what she is. There is a great ensemble cast and even the small child actor eventually pulls his weight. This is by no means a “good” movie and the writing and acting is goofy and silly but it was a lot of fun to watch. I recommend you watch this one for the facepalm goodness, the stunts, the CGI and a ton of Star Wars puns. I can’t wait for number 5.


Gingerdead Man 2

Well, if I was going to do a bad movie theme this week, what better movie studio to fit up but Full Moon. For those who regularly read this blog, you know that I hold a special place in my heart for this studio. They make some of the worst/best horror movies in the business. I have previously reviewed a couple of their movies and I have seen way more including the awesome Puppet Master series. Still, they have made a ton of movies that I have not seen yet. I realized that I had a copy of Gingerdead Man 2 that I had not seen yet. I worried for a few moments that I had not seen the first Gingerdead Man but then I remembered that it does not matter. Luckily, the movie starts with a quick recap of what happened in the first movie. This also did not matter because all you really need to know is that there is a killer gingerbread man who enjoys what he does. I was a little disappointed because I knew that Gary Busey was in the first one and I had hoped it was going to be Gary Busey as a life-sized cookie murdering people. Basically, Gary Busey’s normal Friday night. What I did not expect was that this movie is incredibly meta and is all about the behind the scenes of a crappy, low-budget film studio. I kind of wish the movie had just been about that because it has so many nods to their other franchises. It was a completely stupid movie but it was kind of fun to watch while doing my accounting homework. This is really niche so I do not recommend it.


The Boss

It was not my idea to watch this movie as I really do not like Melissa McCarthty as a comedian because her kind of comedy is very negative and tends to shoot for the lowest common denominator. She is basically the female version of Adam Sandler. The movie follows a thoroughly unlikeable CEO who gets arrested for insider trading and goes to prison. She gets out and mopes about for a while until she decides to sell brownies through kids. All the while she mistreats and bullies everyone she comes in contact with. If we are supposed to root for her, they did not do a good enough job in making her sympathetic. If we are not supposed to like her then I do not see the point. This character deserved every bad thing that happened to her and a lot more than she got. Basically, this movie is bad and it should feel bad. The only bright spot was Kristen Bell who is the sole voice of reason but most of the movie is spent taking a giant dump on her character. I felt bad for her character and I felt bad that the actress was in this movie. Peter Dinklage was also in it but he already chose the direction of his career when he took a role in Pixels. The movie had a lot stupid, lowest common denominator humor. I can take that as long as the main character is actually likable or has any redeemable qualities. If you want to watch a good dumb movie, watch Talladega Nights, Dumb and Dumber, Ace Ventura or Plan 9 from Outer Space.

 

Music of the Week:
Lady of Rage – Get With Da Wickedness

Skyhill – Firefly

Stick To Your Guns – Against Them All

LiSA – L.Miranic

The Dickies – Banana Splits

 

Weekly Updates:
– Step-Brothers was similarly a really bad movie
– Kristen Bell is one of my favorites and she deserves better
– This week’s theme is “Dumb Movies”
– Dark Matter just gets better as it goes
– Sometimes I wish I could shove Hollywood’s nose into its bad movies
– Limitless is even better than I thought it was
– I will be watching the Lavalantula sequel. Believe it.
– I watched the whole Season 3 of Bojack Horseman. I cried.
– Almost done with IT Crowd

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

