Random 41 Questions

A friend of mine posted this questionnaire on Facebook but why would I waste this on Facebook when it seems like a quality questionnaire.  Besides, it has been over a year since I have really posted anything on Facebook and I still do not feel like breaking that streak.  I was going to do another round of interview questions but instead, you get this because it was fun to do.

1. Are you named after someone?

Not that I know of.

2. When is the last time you cried?

My grandmother’s funeral. I talked about it here.

3. Do you like your handwriting ?

Yes, it is horrible and hard for other people to read but it is uniquely mine and I love that. I can slow down and concentrate and make it look presentable but also uniquely mine. I tend to type anything really important. My handwriting is really fast and that accounts for it being chicken scratch.

4. What is your favorite lunch meat?

Rare roast beef. I like it so rare that blood is practically coming out of it. Over the last couple of years, I have learned to appreciate rare meat more when it is safe to do so. There are certain places that I would never order rare meat from and others that nail it completely.

5.Do you have kids?

Nope. I would never say never but it does not look like it is in the cards for me. Still, I am young and anything could happen in the next couple of years. Kids make me nervous but lately, there have been some kids that I am related to that have changed my mind a bit.

6. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?

I think so but it would probably be hard. Like most of my friends, I would have to be alright with not seeing me for long periods of time. I am an introvert and I tend to go into my house and hang out instead of seeking people out to make plans with them. I also tend to think my friends are busy or unwilling to do anything so I do not want to bother them. I will almost always come when called, though.

7. Do you use sarcasm?

I use sarcasm but I try to do it only as a function of comedy. If you are trying to make the people around you laugh, then it is definitely appropriate. If you are being sarcastic to hurt somebody then it is toxic behavior and kind of a dirty move. I try not to be bitter and I definitely do not like confronting people coming from a negative headspace.

8. Do you still have your tonsils?

That is a good question. I do not remember them being removed but I am fairly sure I do not have them. I probably have them still, right? You don’t just forget getting your tonsils removed, right?

9. Would you bungee jump?

I might. I have been doing things lately that scare me. I have gotten better at interacting socially and I went through a haunted house even though I was scared. Being scared of something and doing it anyway is exhilarating. I would have to not be given too much time to think and I would need the right mix of friends or family to go with me. I had the chance when I was a teenager and I did not do it.

10. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

Lucky Charms. I know it is bad for me and it turns most people off but I love a bowl of Lucky Charms floating in whole milk. It is a great mix of sweet and grain and the milk tends to dull the edge of the sweetness. I do not eat them much these days. (Not sponsored by Lucky Charms)

11. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

I do not. I know you are supposed to but I just kind of slip them off. I have never had them fly off and not untying them every time has not been a problem. I do untie my dress shoes but I am paranoid about scuffing or damaging them in any way.

12. Do you think you’re strong?

I feel like I am only physically strong when I do not stop to think about it. I have lifted things and endured things that would have given me pause had I actually planned it out. I can lift a good amount of weight but I do not train with weights. I prefer to exercise by walking instead.

13. What is your favorite Ice Cream Flavor?

For a long time, my favorite has been Mint Chocolate Chip because I love the way those two flavors go together. My favorite brand of Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream is Turkey Hill. I discovered the Turkey Hill brand while I was living in New Jersey near the Pennsylvania line. It is so creamy and soft and delicious. Lately, I have also renewed a love affair with Vanilla. If I had the option to add a little Hershey’s chocolate syrup then Vanilla is my favorite. (Not sponsored by Turkey Hill or Hershey’s)

14. What is the first thing you notice about people?

Their respect for other people. Specifically, I look at how people deal with people that they disagree with. Those that shut down people with opposite or different opinions are not people I really want to hang out with. There are too many people I have met who like to dominate the conversation by being a brick wall and maintaining that they cannot be wrong and nobody else can be right.

15. Red or pink?

Red. However, as I have explored gender studies a bit more, I have gained a new appreciation for pink. Growing up, I liked a lot of boy stuff and a lot of girl stuff and pink was persona non grata for boy stuff. Now, I realize how much bullcrap that aversion to pink is. I still have to go with red as a horror movie aficionado.

16. What is the least favorite thing you like about yourself?

My depression. Depression lies and it can cause all sorts of nonsensical and harmful thoughts to enter my brain and that leads to bad decisions. Every year I get a better grip on it but it still tries to worm its way into ruining everything. The darkness is never far off.

 

17. What color pants and shoes are you wearing now?

Tan shorts and no shoes. I do not wear shoes in my own home.

18. What was the last thing you ate?

I cooked up a little cheesy omelet to take the edge off my hunger and I will probably cook up something else to join it. Earlier today I had a crabcake sandwich for lunch at the Ravens game. It was so good.

19. What are you listening to right now?

I am watching Game Grumps on YouTube. It is basically like listening to a podcast of two guys talking while watching them play a video game. I have stuck with these guys for over a year and met a few of the staff members in person. It is just a good, down to Earth show that is only ten minutes long.

 

20. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?

I would hope blue. Blue was always what I used to color the water in pictures and I really like water. I grew up in Baltimore and anywhere in Baltimore is not far from the water.

 

21. Favorite smell ?

Cooking in general. Baking bread is a more specific favorite especially if it is some sort of sweetened bread. Cooking meat, especially steak is also a favorite.

22. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?

My mother, arranging meeting up to go to today’s Ravens game.

23. Favorite sport to watch?

American Football. I like the tension being ratcheted up with each progressive down and I love the running, passing, kicking and tackling skills involved. I also like that watching it usually involves eating stuff like hot wings, potato skins and mozzarella sticks. I love the Ravens and have loved them since they rolled into town from Cleveland.

24.Hair color?

Black.

25. Eye color?

Black.

26. Do you wear contacts?

No. I always just shuddered when I thought about sticking my finger in my eye.

27. Favorite food to eat?

A good bacon cheeseburger. It is a meal that I have had at more restaurants than I care to try and count. It is a hard meal to really screw up but when it is good, it can be amazing. It is also something I can easily make myself.

28. Scary movies or happy endings?

Scary movies. We just came off October and anyone who reads my blog or talks to me during October knows that I am a Halloween devotee. Horror has so many cool yet dark visual motifs that set my imagination aflame and make me want to create. I like happy endings and the two things here are not mutually exclusive but if I had to choose, I would go with horror movies.

29. Last movie you watched?

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back. It was really fun and way better than it has any business being.

30. What color shirt are you wearing?

Purple. Go Ravens!

31. Summer or Winter?

Winter. I love the cold.

32. Hugs or kisses?

Hugs. I only kiss people and get kisses from people I am romantically involved in and right now that is nobody. I am also not really a hugger and more of a handshake kind of person but I will break that rule for the people I care for the most in this world.

33. What book are you currently reading?

Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition Player’s Manual. I want to be a Barbarian.

34. Who do you miss right now?

Friends who I have lost touched with and friends and family who are dead.

35. What is on your mouse pad?

I use a trackpad and not a mousepad. However, I do have a Doctor Who one.

36. What is the last TV program you watched?

Galavant. It is really good, you guys. I will probably be talking about it on Thursday.

37. What is the best sounding noise?

Genuine laughter when I am in on the joke. When I am having fun with people and joking around, laughter just cascades over me like a rain of pure happiness. I love to laugh and I love to make people laugh when I can.

38. Rolling Stones or The Beatles?

This is a difficult question. On the one hand, I was raised as a youth to respond to the question “Who is the greatest singer in the world?” with “Mick Jagger!”. On the other hand, the Beatles have a more varied and interesting catalog of songs. I think I will have to go with the Beatles.

39. What is the furthest you have ever traveled?

Paris, France. I went there when I was thirteen with my mother and we had an excellent time even if I was a little cranky and angsty from jetlag. I saw so many things that I had only seen on postcards and experienced a culture somewhat alien from my own.

40. Do you have a special talent?

I have a really good memory for story elements. I can remember a lot of trivia from pop culture concerning plot points, character names and such. This extends into my life as I am able to remember the narrative of my life and the stories people tell me pretty well.

41. Where were you born?

Baltimore, Maryland at Johns Hopkins Hospital.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

