Sailor Earth

In 1998, I was sixteen years old and I had fully embraced being a huge geek. Part of that was learning to love things that I had previously dismissed, something that drives me crazy these days. I grew up watching Saturday morning cartoons but anime eluded me largely because I found it hard to connect to something in a different language. That is not to say that I do not enjoy watching things in their original language with subtitles, but when I was younger I needed anime dubbed in English to emotionally connect. One of my friends was a superfan of Dragonball Z and I made fun of him for it because it is fun to bust your friend’s chops. Then the show debuted on Cartoon Network and I fell in love with the art style and the drama of the early episodes. However, of all things shown on Cartoon Network’s Toonami, it was Sailor Moon that captivated my attention.

Sure, the animation on Sailor Moon was a little repetitive but I loved the characters and the light humor and dramatic touches resonated with me somehow. As a child of the eighties, I was exposed to the usual toxic masculinity that would have forbidden me from falling in love with a show like Sailor Moon. However, I always loved the characters on the show and I excitedly taped and watched every episode Toonami showed. I also liked the repetition of the show. Hearing phrases like “In the Name of the Moon, I will punish you!” over and over sounded badass. I loved watching the Sailor Scouts become more and more confident as they fought bigger and badder monsters each episode. The themes of friendship, teamwork, and love conquering hate were good to hear for a kid who had few but strong friendships. Those themes are even more important now.

I had a separate post on the backburner of my mind for ages now about something that is kind of specific to anime. Well, I guess it’s also used on shows like Power Rangers too. I am talking about calling out your attacks and magic spells as they are used. I have yet to come up with an explanation of why I love this trope of fiction. Maybe it is the familiar cadence of their voices accompanied by the satisfying destruction of a monster. Maybe it was the voice actors doing such a good job at showing the confidence that those attacks would solve everything. As an awkward teen, I was drawn to confidence.

I started to write what I now know is fanfiction. I loved the show but I started tweaking it on paper and in my head to have the same heart and soul but better animation. I started specializing the scouts just a little more to show off their individual strengths a bit. I think a lot of us who love fictional worlds so much find ourselves wanting to improve them not out of hate but out of pure love. Of course, a few seasons in and I became fascinated with the one male ally of the protagonists, Tuxedo Mask. As much as I liked the Tuxedo Mask imagery, I wanted him to eventually evolve a bit (he did but not in the way I expected). I wanted Darian to be granted his own symbol. The scouts (inner and outer) had the planets, Darian was basically Sailor Earth.

Out of tape and a Halloween safety light, I created a transformation charm with the Earth symbol that Tuxedo Mask might have used. I carried it around all the time but secretly in my pocket or in my backpack. I hid it at the time but it really was not unlike cosplay prop products that makers around the country work on these days. I imagined using that charm to transform to fight crime much like a lot of the heroes of shows like Sailor Moon, Power Rangers, Digimon, Megaman.EXE and Ronin Warriors. I have been thinking about it lately and I know I daydreamed of being Tuxedo Mask at the time. Not because I wanted to date Sailor Moon but because I wanted to fight alongside the Sailor Scouts while still being a guy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Sailor Earth”

  1. mhsusannematthews Says:

    I was never into anime, but at last year’s Comic Convention I attended, I was surprised to see so many dressed as Sailor Moon. Find me here. LINK

    Like

  2. Djinnia Says:

    What a fantastic post. It reads like my childhood too.

    I grew up watching sailor moon and toonami and falling in liove with anime in the nineties. FMA and Inuyasha were time slotted side by side on Saturday night so I got to stay up late to watch them.

    I wanted to be awesome like Sango and Sailor Mars and a genius like Ami.

    I died of happiness when crystal came out and the new dubbed seasons. Though I miss the older dubs with Darien and Serena.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tabby Says:

    I still love Sailor Moon to this day! I was a bit younger watching the show, like 7-8 years old, so I grew up with it. I actually recently taped a homemade moon crescent to my head for work when we had Superhero Day for National Library Week. And my black cat’s name is Luna.

    It’s awesome that you have written fanfiction for the show! I’ve always wanted to, but never really came up with good ideas that I could follow through with.

    Like

  4. Donna (@Girl_Who_Reads) Says:

    I’m not much of a fan of anime, but I have a few friends that really love Sailor Moon. I love your memory; thanks for sharing it. Girl Who Reads

    Like

Leave a Reply

