A to Z Blogging Challenge: Reflections

This was my third time going through the Blogging from A to Z Challenge and it was my most successful to date. Even though my life is kind of in upheaval lately, I never scrambled to get an entry done in time. The only time I did not have a buffer was going into the final Friday night. I solved that by writing up the last two posts and then I could relax. In fact, until the last week, I usually had a buffer of at least a week. I started working in February and it paid off. I would have had even more of a buffer if I could be more decisive about what each letter would be

This year was the first year that I had a theme which was “Getting to Know Me”. Every post had to do with me and my life. I told a lot of personal stories and I also pontificated on subjects that were on my mind at the time. I reviewed movies with subjects that I had a personal connection to. I wrote short fiction with themes important to my life. That last one probably was not completely clear. So, just for fun, I will run them down now.

Electrical Malfunction had to do with past health problems, fears that they will be future health problems and also about not being a morning person. Ion Flow was literally about my own self-discovery this month but also references to my love of research. The King is about the recent political unrest and how dissatisfied I am with the current “ruling party” in my beloved country. It is not literal. Radio is about the fear of death and my own brief fascination with working in radio. Finally, Victory Island and X Marks the Spot are about going and finding the tools to make my life better.

I had a lot more people stopped by and visited this year. From a traffic standpoint, this year I had three times as many views in April from when I started this challenge. I would like to thank all of you so much. This is a labor of love and I would do whether people visited or not but you guys and gals brightened up my days this month. I got so many lovely comments that it motivated me to go out and make thoughtful comments of my own. I hope that I brightened up somebody else’s day in return. I wish I had had more time to visit more than a handful of blogs each day.

My most successful post (most views and visitors) was Needles. That was full of very personal stories about one of my greatest weaknesses. That post, Electrical Malfunction, and Clarinet pussyfooted around a story that I am surprised to not find in my archives. It is probably one of the most important events in my life and I have never really fully gotten into it. I will be telling that story soon even if it is my first multi-part post. I want to tell it because people look at me funny when I tell it live and in person and it is fun to tell.

Finally, I have to thank you all again. Throw up your hands in exalted victory because, whether you were a writer or a reader, you made it to the end of this challenge. Cheers!

Edit (5/8/17):

The challenge has really inspired me to add to the posts that I want to write.  Instead of writing Sailor Moon fanfiction (as I said I might do) I am writing my own take on that kind of Magical Girl story.  I have also started talking about one of the biggest events of my life as I discussed above.  I am sure that all of the posts I wrote and the posts I read will continue to inspire me.

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: Reflections”

  1. mhsusannematthews Says:

    It was interesting following your posts. I hope you’ll continue to follow mine too.

    Like

  2. aandj8804 Says:

    Congrats on making it through the challenge in one piece! :)

    I, too, had to start planning in February. I think I was two weeks ahead in scheduled posts for most of the challenge, but then I fell behind beginning with the third week and by week four I was writing posts the day before they were “due”. Oops. Maybe I need to plan better if I decide to join in next year. I do think viewer numbers go up when you have a theme though. I’m not quite sure why.

    After taking a bit of a break, I need to figure out where to go with my blog next. I feel like the past few months of my life have been devoted to figuring out A-Z.

    Are you happy A-Z is over? If you participate next year, do you think there is anything you will do differently?

    With Love,
    Mandy

    Like

    • Wolf of Words Says:

      I am glad you survived too! Congrats! Planning ahead is great but, as Mike Tyson says: “Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.” All we can do is try our best to prepare and then try our best to keep up. I am not sure what drives numbers up but participating and building a following certainly helps.

      Yeah, after the challenge I felt that relief of it being over but I also worried that I had just been drained of stories. However, after a little break, I feel inspired by what I wrote in A to Z and that is what I am working on first.

      I am happy it is over as I cannot maintain what was basically a post a day for too long. I do it twice a year and I somehow do not run out of words. I really have to think about next year and what I want to do. I may pick a more specific theme or I may pick a more specific format. However, I like the grab bag that my blog is. We shall see.

      Like

  3. Weekends in Maine Says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge. It sounds like you did good with your pre-prep. For me, it definitely helps free up time to visit other bloggers when I can have things queued ahead of time. Visiting other bloggers is my favorite part. I’m glad to hear the blogging challenge inspired you to write things that you want. I find the challenge inspiring as well.

    Like

  4. Liz A. Says:

    Congrats on finishing. Not everyone can say they did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

