Media Update 5/11/2017


Lego Batman

I am a huge fan of Batman and, with the exception of Batman v. Superman, I have seen pretty much every iteration of Batman that has been released. This movie is a spin off of The Lego Movie which was a surprise hit. The Lego Movie being a hit was a surprise to me as well because I was expecting crass commercialization but instead we got a really good story with fun characters. So, when they announced this movie, I knew it would probably be pretty good. Will Arnett’s Batman is a different animal from other Batman versions. He is flashy, brutally honest and a blowhard who is jealous of anyone who becomes more popular than him. We get Zach Galifianakis as the Joker and he is a perfect foil for Lego Batman because he is silly, cartoony and strangely sweet. This movie is the cure for the way the DC Cinematic universe has gone lately. It is not afraid to take chances and get silly. It is also one of the best Batman movies that I have seen. It references a lot of Batman and DC Comics history and acknowledges the past with reverence but too much reverence. It strikes the delicate balance of poking fun at its source material while also celebrating it. It also has the baddest woman on the planet Rosario Dawson as Barbara Gordon/Batgirl. I definitely recommend it but especially for fellow Batman fans.


Trolls

Dreamworks is a studio that is kind of hit or miss so I often let their movies pass by unless I hear some buzz. The first trailer I saw of this movie was a music video for the big original song and I was like ‘this song is good… oh it’s the Trolls movie’. This was a mistake. After watching two animated films, I decided to give this movie a shot. I remembered the trailer having good art and animation. I also found out that one of the movie’s stars is Justin Timberlake. While I was extremely anti-boy band in the nineties, I have become a fan of Timberlake in these times. He also executive produced the soundtrack which is a mix of covers of popular music and original music. Arguably the real star of the movie is Anna Kendrick whose movies I have never really seen (except Into the Woods) but she was great in this one. She and JT have great chemistry together and she is a obviously a great singer as well. There is a great supporting cast as well including Jeffery Tambor, Christine Baranski, Zooey Deschanel and Christopher Mintz-Plasse along with a great group of comedians and musicians. If you do not like pop music, then this one might not be for you but I love upbeat music so I might have to download the soundtrack at some point actually. The message of the movie was simple and some of the points were predictable but sometimes that is just the movie I want to watch. I definitely recommend it for those who love good animation, good dialogue and fun music.


Sing

I was never one for singing competitions. I love music but I never really got into declaring winners or losers because skill is not the only thing that makes a good musician. Sometimes a singer with a lot of heart beats a singer with impeccable talent. Which is kind of the message of this movie although they never really come out and say it. The movie follows a dying theater which puts on a singing competition in order to draw interest from the community and sell tickets. Of course, the movie being what it is, there are about eighty popular songs in it. For me, it becomes a bit much. Often, there is no rhyme or reason for what songs are bein sung. Somebody just looked up the last forty years or so of the Billboard listings and just had random animals singing them. There are also truly unlikable characters in the movie, chief among them is played by Seth McFarlane (of course). All that aside, there is actually a pretty sweet movie in there. Mostly because most of the main cast learns important lessons about life and show business. I was completely blown away by Taron Egerton’s musical skill but a lot of the main cast had really great performances. I recommend this one but you could probably fast forward through the Mike scenes and just be patient for the third act which is where the movie really shines.

Music of the Week:
Elton John – I’m Still Standing

Logic – Everybody

Megadeth – Sweating Bullets

Rebel and a Basketcase – Oh Yeah

My Life as Eva – Literally My Life

Weekly Update:
– This Week’s Theme is “Teamwork Makes the Dream Work”
– I watched more of Don’t Trust the B in Apt 23 Season 2
– I watched more Fairy Tail
– I watched a lot more Legends of Tomorrow Season 2
– I finished Season 1 of MST3K: The Return
– I started Better Call Saul Season 2

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

