Media Update 7/20/17


Despicable Me 2

I liked the first movie, I talked about it somewhere on this site. Dreamworks is hit and miss so at some point I threw in with Pixar and Disney who have a higher success rate. Now, in the age of Rotten Tomatoes and audience scores, I felt like going back and watching more Dreamworks Animated films. The Despicable Me series is not really about a (now former) supervillain trying to save the day. Sure, that stuff totally happens but it is just the medium in which the real plot exists. To me, the real charm of the movies is how Gru (Steve Carrell) deals with the people around him. He is grumpy with lingering villainous tendencies but he has a good heart deep down. Watching him deal with his adopted daughters is funny and heartwarming. Of course, the now omnipresent minions are in the movie but they are limited to short gags and then are actually used for some fun major plot sequences near the end. Kristin Wiig plays Gru’s secret agent partner who tries to steer Gru further toward the side of light and she is edited and honed so that she is way better than I have seen her before, kind of like Ghostbusters. It was a fun romp of a film with a good heart to it so I definitely recommend it.


Kung Fu Panda 2

I am a big fan of Jack Black who I know can be a polarizing figure in pop culture. He has a goofy sense of humor that does not always land but he always gives a hundred percent effort. Kung Fu Panda looked like something that was going to fail and then I heard it was good. I gave it a shot. Jack Black plays Po the Panda with such honest naivete that I cannot help but root for him even when he acts dumb or lazy. The same goes with this movie. He has proved himself once but now he has to keep proving himself. Now we see the tight friendships he has formed with his team and even though they might not always fully trust him, they work well together. The jokes are subtle enough to be funny and it felt like there was less awkward humor than the original as Po was not a complete newbie anymore. It also felt like there was more meat to the story and things were much more personal for Po. On top of all of that, the action sequences are so beautiful and fluid. For some reason, watching animals doing kung fu is really pleasant especially seeing them do it in teamwork. I recommend it.


Storks

I remembered laughing at the trailer for this movie which is not a guarantee of a good movie but it gets me interested. I was also interested when I found out that Andy Samberg, Jordan Peele, and Keegan-Michael Key are all in it. I seriously thought this movie was made by Dreamworks when it came out so I had to slightly adjust my theme this week. This movie was weird but in a good way. There were plenty of times where I would think to myself that a joke or a situation was so stupid but just as soon as I think it, the movie self-corrects. It points out stupid situations, the wolves make no sense, the main character played by Samberg is borderline insane but the movie tends to explain everything to my satisfaction. On top of that, there were plenty of smiles and heart-warming moments since the movie is mostly about orphans finding a family. From what I could tell, taking care of a baby and its effect on the parents was portrayed the most accurate that I have seen in an animated movie. But actually, the real star of the movie is <> who has a great mix of sweetness, sarcasm, and craziness. I definitely recommend it.

Music of the Week:
Marshmello – Alone

Korede Bello ft. Tiwa Savage – Romantic

Post Malone – Congratulations

Hex Girls – Earth, Wind, Fire and Air

Suggs – I’m Only Sleeping

Update of the Week:
– This week’s theme is “Non-Disney Orphans”
– I finished Arrow Season 5
– I started House of Cards Season 2
– I finally finished watching GLOW
– I watched more Glitter Force Season 1
– I watched more Supergirl Season 2
– I started watching NCIS Season 13
– I finished watching iZombie Season 3

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

