Media Update 4/7/2016

This is not an A to Z Blogging Challenge post. If you’re into that sort of thing, it appeared earlier this morning and can be found here: Felix Graham: Osaka Adventure Part 6. In the meantime, enjoy this regular weekly feature where I blabber on about what I’ve been watching lately.


10 Cloverfield Lane

Those who have followed this blog know how much I like scary stuff (and Halloween) but I often shy away from thriller type stuff because they often feel too formulaic. There are some good examples of movies that are original but for the most part it’s a lot of dread and jump scares and not much thought. This movie caught my attention. First, I love John Goodman. He’s a charismatic actor who is incredibly talented in just about anything he’s applied himself to. Second, I did see Cloverfield and, although it wasn’t great, I was enticed by the vague mystery connecting the two movies. Finally, the song “I Think We’re Alone Now” was just so catchy and creepy in the trailer that I was practically humming it after I bought my ticket. The movie was excellent. It was just the right amount of uneasy comedy, mystery and thriller. It’s not a jump scare-fest. It’s a movie that makes you think and worry and really root for the main character. My point of view shifted several times during the movie and I’m still left with questions in the best way. Check it out and be spooked.


The Good Dinosaur

So my love affair with animation continues. I saw this one alone on a big screen television instead of in a theater with a bunch of kids and parents like Inside Out. I saw the teaser trailer above and made the gut decision to pass it up in theaters. I thought it was another Wall-E and there would be little to no dialogue. That’s fine but it’s not exactly my cup of tea but I knew I would see it anyway. Once again, I am kicking myself for not watching this sooner. Non-Spoiler: The dinosaurs talk and they are great. The movie is about a young Apatosaurus looking to make his mark among his farming family. However, he is afraid. Fear and anxiety plague the young dinosaur and he goes on a journey to learn that bravery does not mean you’re not afraid. It is a great story about our responses to fear, the struggle to shine among your peers and finding the will inside you to do things you never thought you would do. It is a great movie. Not Pixar’s best but miles ahead of their worst.


Room 237

This movie is so insane that it is more than a little bit scary. The Shining was an excellent movie made by Stanley Kubrick, possibly the greatest perfectionist in film history. He subjected most of his cast to what could be called psychological torture in order to make the movie he wanted to make. The movie was so good that the actors forgave him for pretty much everything. To me, the movie was a pretty straightforward look at how isolation and mental issues can cause a man to go insane. Also, there are ghosts and magic powers. In this documentary, they took several people with insane theories about the movie and just let them unleash a flood of evidence. The three strongest theories (but still insane) are: the movie is a reference to the massacre of the Native Americans, the movie is a reference to the Holocaust and the movie is a reference to how Kubrick faked NASA’s moon landing footage. All three theories are horribly specific for a movie that does not explicitly refer to these things. Most of the people who offer up these theories seem to have been damaged forever by 2001: A Space Oddysey. That movie left a lot up to the audience to interpret and it was confusing to the average person. Even I still have some confusion about it. These people thought that The Shining was the same kind of movie instead of the pretty clear horror/suspense movie we know it as. This movie is a lot of talking so watch it in the background while doing paperwork or watch it in chunks maybe.

Links of the Week:
Warren G ft. Nate Dogg – Regulate
Tokyo Police Club – Hot Tonight
Halestorm – Mayhem
Player Piano – Guile’s Theme
The Misfits – Die, Die My Darling

Weekly Updates:
– This week’s theme is “Fear”
– Man, Lucifer is really good
– American Crime Story is over and that’s sad
– Zootopia was sold out when I went to see it
– Wrestlemania weekend was so much fun
– I’m really enjoying Mr. Robot though it is depressing
– I’m still watching so much Youtube

Leave a Reply

