The Doctor in the Sky – A Doctor Who Story

Shane followed close behind The Doctor, both of them moving as quietly as they could. He did not recognize the strange alien architecture around them but that was becoming all too familiar traveling with the Doctor. The Doctor was a strange woman but she was fascinating and exciting even though Shane knew that she was dangerous. The red-haired stranger had shown up in the midst of what turned out to be a time distortion. Shane had been with her since.

“Doctor,” Shane said. “Where are we? Also, when are we?”

The Doctor turned smiling with a mixture of pride and amusement. “Well done, Shane,” she said. “You’re learning. Please do keep your voice down as this ship is full of creatures who can be quiet hostiles and in this period of history, they are far too interested in human beings.”

“Ship?” Shane asked, being careful to keep his voice down. “We’re on a ship?”

“Yes,” the Doctor said patiently. “We’re on a Diluvian ship in the year 1978, somewhere over Snowflake, Arizona.”

“Why are we here?” Shane asked. “I mean if it’s so dangerous.” He was getting used to things being dangerous when The Doctor was around but there was always a purpose. Somebody or something was usually threatening the events of history. Sometimes it was just outright killing that attracted The Doctor’s compassion. The Doctor always set things right or at least tried to the best of her ability. It was part of why Shane had decided to stick around. He also wanted to help people.

“I realized that I had to close a bit of a time loop I started,” The Doctor said. “Also, I suppose you could call this a rescue mission if you will.”

“A rescue mission?” Shane asked. “Who would be up here in an alien craft in the late seventies? I thought most people who said they got abducted by aliens were crackpots.”

“Well, you’re mostly right,” The Doctor said. “A lot of abduction stories come from people under the influence of some drug, hallucinations otherwise caused by physical injury or sickness, or a particularly lucid dream. Yet more of them are just making up stories for attention. There are a small percentage who are telling the truth. Most abductions don’t end well.”

“Aliens are really going around killing people?” Shane asked. “Why?”

“Loads of reasons,” The Doctor said. “For food, for profit, for sport, and so on. There are too many reasons and all of them are selfish and wrong.”

“No arguments here,” Shane said. “Lucky I ran into the nice alien.”

The Doctor smiled and patted Shane’s shoulder. “Thanks, Shane,” she said. “but there are plenty of nice aliens out there. Most of them have never even heard of Earth, though. Just your planet’s bad luck, I think.”

“So we’re here to rescue some unlucky bloke?” Shane asked.

“Yes,” The Doctor said as they resumed creeping through the ship. “I don’t suppose we’ll get any credit for it but that’s probably for the best. The fewer humans who know about me, the better.”

“I still think you’d be a bloody hero for all you’ve done,” Shane said.

“I never set out to be a hero,” The Doctor said. “I just can’t stand by and not help.”

Shane smiled. “That’s a hero in my book,” he said. “Wait, are the Men in Black real?”

“Pretty sure they are,” The Doctor said. “I was one once.”

Shane nearly yelled in response but managed to keep himself under control. “Did you wipe anybody’s memory?”

“They only do that in the movies,” The Doctor said. “Those devices do exist but UNIT and their contemporaries wouldn’t be so cruel.”

“I have a lot to learn,” Shane said.

They entered into a chamber with a man lying on a table. The Doctor and Shane rushed to his side and The Doctor moved to use her sonic screwdriver to release the man’s restraints as Shane shook him awake.

“What’s going on?” the man weakly asked.

“We’re here to help,” Shane said. “Can you tell us your name?”

“Travis,” the man said groggily. “Travis Walton.”

“Let’s get you out of here, Travis,” The Doctor said and they helped him to his feet.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Doctor in the Sky – A Doctor Who Story”

  1. Tarkabarka Says:

    I had to look up who Travis Walton is 😀
    I love the Doctor. I have not watched the latest seasons yet, but now you made me want to. Also, I’d love a MIB-DW crossover 😀

    The Multicolored Diary

    Like

    • Wolf of Words Says:

      The latest seasons of Doctor Who are great but I decided to write my own take on the Doctor for this one. She’s a ginger, something 10 expressed interest in way back in the 2000s. As for Travis, the movie Fire in the Sky has lived rent-free in my head since I saw the poster and the trailer as a kid and it terrified me. I’m filing away that crossover idea for next year.

      Like

  2. Frewin55 Says:

    Hi – I put a mini review of your blog in response to the Day 4 Roll of the Dice Challenge at http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2021/04/d-is-for-dice-roll-them-atozchallenge.html
    My review is here…
    https://how-would-you-know.blogspot.com/2021/04/roll-of-dice-challenge-4-fulfilled.html

    Like

  3. Liam Says:

    I love The Doctor. And I want to read more of this story!

    Like

  4. Roll of the Dice – Challenge 4 Fulfilled - How would you know... Says:

    […] up, near the top of the Master List – Wolf of Wordswith a piece of Fan Fiction – The Doctor in the Sky – Doctor Who Story. I grew up with Doctor Who and followed every iteration of the Doctor and am certainly a fan of our […]

    Like

Leave a comment