Media Update 4/18/24

X-Men ‘97 (2024)

I was a huge fan of the original series so I was excited to hear about this sequel series. This is a continuation of the story with a return to a lot of characters from the original lineup. Many voice actors have been replaced but some have returned. In particular, I am so glad that Cal Dodd returns as Wolverine, Lenore Zann returns as Rogue, and Alison Sealy-Smith returns as Storm. Some other voice actors from the original have unfortunately died recently. Some voice actors from the original have changed their roles. The new voice actors do a great job of approximating the voices while still doing their own thing. In particular, Holly Chou has taken over playing Jubilee because the original actress expressed her wish for an actual Asian American to play the role. The show also has the real return of Morph as a character adding some much-needed comedy. I am excited to see how the show continues to adapt storylines from the comic books while also doing its own thing a bit. I recommend this show.

The Wheel of Time (2021 – 2023)

This was a recommendation from my cousin who knows that I like fantasy stories. As the forces of darkness close in, a mystic may have found the world’s savior but it is one of four young people. Rosamund Pike plays the imposing channeler of magic who has been tasked with seeking the one who will save everyone. Daniel Henney plays her bodyguard, absolutely dedicated to protecting her and her mission. Madeleine Madden plays a mayor’s daughter who is suddenly out of her element away from home. Josha Stradowski plays a shepherd who may be destined for greater things. Marcus Rutherford plays a blacksmith who is suddenly joining in battle. Barney Harris plays a gambler who might have to get serious. Abdul Salis plays an insidious religious zealot who is dangerous. I am interested to see where this series goes. I really like the magic system but this is a very dark and gritty world. I recommend this series.

Power Rangers: Cosmic Fury (2023)

I will probably keep watching Power Rangers series until they stop making them. With the return of Lord Zedd, a group of rangers must recover from their most dire circumstances. This show largely follows the cast from Dino Fury but with an entirely different tone. The show also brings back David Yost as Billy Cranston, the Blue Ranger. Jared Turner returns but now as a good guy. Ryan Carter returns from Dino Charge now as a good guy. This series more than any other references previous series, confirming a lot of past seasons as canon in the same world. It also has a lesbian romance in it which is wild to see in a Power Rangers show. It is always seeing rangers being pushed out of their comfort zone and seeing tons of callbacks to ranger lore. I recommend this series.


Music of the Week:

Slaughterhouse – Poison

After Fiasco – Blueberry Hill

RADICAL KITTEN – Afraid to Die

Brimheim – Literally Everything

Mashup of the Week:

Ifthiswasamoviestan – Dancing With Our Thumbs Tied


Weekly Update:

  • This week’s theme is “Fighting Together”
  • I watched a ton of YouTube and Twitch: Impact Wrestling, All Elite Wrestling,  LegalEagle, Dead Meat, Some More News, Games Done Quick, Cultaholic, Allison Pregler, Phelous, Game Theory, Jesse Cox, Super Beard Bros, Drawfee, Nick DiRamio, Sad Boyz, Jarvis Johnson, KallMeKris, Dropout, Swell Entertainment, Amalee, IronMouse
  • I watched more Hawai’i 5-0 Season 5
  • I watched more NCIS Season 21
  • I watched more NCIS Hawai’i Season 3
  • I watched more Ellsbeth Season 1
  • I watched more FBI Season 1
  • I watched more Bluey Season 3
  • I started SWAT Season 5
  • I watched more The Blacklist Season 10
  • I watched more Matlock Season 2
  • I started Law and Order: Organized Crime Season 1

Leave a comment