Prowler 2.0 – A Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales Story

Miles Morales was glad that his uncle Aaron had gotten himself released from prison. Although the two of them had had their differences, they were still family and that bond would exist forever. Besides, Aaron did the right thing in the end and Miles had a lot of time to forgive as the wounds had healed. Miles had recently helped his uncle try and achieve some redemption by preventing his gear from being used for further crimes. Miles knocked on his uncle’s door which was on the floor above the apartment Miles shared with his mother. He hoped his uncle was home as he was supposed to be working as a condition of his parole.

After a few moments, the door opened slowly and there was Aaron Davis. Aaron smiled when he saw that it was Miles.

“Youngblood!” Aaron said, putting his fist out for Miles to bump it. “Glad you caught me, good to see you. Woulda thought you’d be out on patrol. Hold up, we’re not alone.”

Miles followed Aaron’s gaze over to a young Hobie Brown, a classmate. Miles smiled.

“He’s with me, Uncle Aaron,” Miles said. “This is Hobie Brown, a friend of mine and a friend of Spider-Man.”

“Yo,” Hobie said. “I mean, nice to meet you, sir.”

“Friend of which Spider-Man?” Aaron asked. “The OG or the cool one?” He asked that last with a little smirk.

“The cool one,” Miles said. “The one that’s me. I’m going to have to keep that ‘OG’ comment from the other guy. It will totally go to his head. And you can relax, Unc, Hobie knows about me.”

“Half the city does at this point,” Aaron said. “You never could keep a secret for long.”

“Give me a break,” Miles said. “I’m still keeping everything on lockdown. Uh, sorry, bad word choice.”

Aaron laughed and shook his head. “Believe me, I heard worse on the inside,” he said. “Now come on in. I’ve got a little time before work.”

Miles and Hobie walked into Aaron’s apartment and it was similar to Miles’ own apartment but definitely was starting to show his uncle’s signature style. 

“Thank you,” Hobie said.

“Yeah, thanks,” Miles said. “I guess I should get right to it. I’ve been thinking about how you can’t be The Prowler again. I respect your current hustle but all that tech is going to waste.”

“Tech you helped me recover and destroy,” Aaron said. “And yeah, I can never be The Prowler again or I go back to lockup on The Raft. Thanks for poking at a sore spot.”

\

“That’s not what I was trying to do,” Miles said. “Look. Hobie has been helping me and Ganke with tech to keep me up to date out there. We’ve been studying Phin’s Tinkerer technology and Hobie… well you explain.”

“I want to get out there myself,” Hobie said. “Miles has become a really good friend and I like helping him out but it’s not enough. Things are getting rough out there and the other Spidey isn’t always there to watch Miles’ back. I want to be there for him.”

“So what, you want my tech?” Aaron asked. “How do I know that I’m not handing it off to somebody who will just start the cycle all over again?”

“I vouch for him,” Miles said.

Aaron shook his head. “No offense, Miles, but you have a history of getting stabbed in the back,” he said.

“And yet, I still keep trusting,” Miles said with a smile. “Let me remind you that you were one of the criminals who stabbed me in the back. Of course, the last time you did it, it was to try and keep me safe. You know what? This would help keep me safe.”

“I’m Bronx Strong, Mr. Davis,” Hobie said. “I’ve been fighting since I can remember. I was lucky enough to funnel my drive into achieving. It landed me a scholarship at the same school as Miles. I saw Miles’ face in costume by chance but I’ve got his back. I promise.”

“Promise, huh?” Aaron asked. “I guess I can borrow from my nephew and try to keep trusting but I’m keeping you on a tight leash. I’ll work with the two of you but only if Miles keeps vouching for you and you show that you’re worth trusting.”

“I wouldn’t have it any other way, Mr. Davis,” Hobie said.

“I’ll be in touch,” Aaron said. “Like I said, I’ve got to get to work.”

“Where are you working these days, Unc?” Miles asked.

“I’m working to dismantle supervillain technology,” Aaron said. “I was going to give you some of the intel I learn from that anyway but this job might work out even better for you.”

“I’m looking forward to it,” Miles said.

“Me too,” Hobie said.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment