Media Update 6/20/24

The Stepfather (1987)

I had heard about this movie for quite some time but wanted to watch it in advance of the Dead Meat Kill Count. A man seeks to form the perfect family life but each time it proves to be imperfect, he kills them all and starts again. Terry O’Quinn plays the titular character, a seemingly easy-going suburban guy who hides an unraveling mind. Jill Schoelen plays the daughter still acting up from the death of her father. Shelley Hack plays the affable and trusting mother. Charles Lanyer plays the daughter’s well-meaning and protective therapist. This is often mistaken as a slasher but it is really a psychological thriller. O’Quinn is great at switching between psycho and a great guy and makes sense as a manipulator. The movie is not too scary but has some tense moments. I love the campy moments and subtle comedy. I recommend this movie.

The Stepfather (2009)

A co-worker convinced me to watch this version. A young man comes home from military school to find that his stepfather-to-be is taking over but something is not right. This is obviously a very similar plot to the original. It adds some more story elements and flips some from the original. Dylan Walsh plays the two-faced Stepfather this time but he is a much worse lier but somehow gets people to believe him. Penn Badgely plays the son, a troubled kid trying to make things right after causing so much trouble. Sela Ward plays the clueless mother who cares for her children but cannot see what is right in front of her. Amber Heard plays the oblivious girlfriend who is constantly trying to distract the son. There are some other child actors who are almost completely extraneous to the story. This movie is somehow even campier and definitely more violent. I liked it in a different way. However, I felt like it stole too many beats from the original instead of pushing to be its own thing a little more. Still, I recommend this movie.

Thirteen Ghosts (2001) 

I had seen quite a bit of this movie but never all the way through. A family grieving the mother inherits a state-of-the-art house that contains the titular ghosts. Tony Shalhoub plays the grieving father, trying to provide for and protect his children. Rah Digga plays the nanny, a woman out of her depth but trying her best. Matthew Lillard plays a psychic who used to hunt ghosts with Shalhoub’s father. I remember when the website for this movie came out when I was in college. I really loved the lore and design of the ghosts and they are even better as moving images. There is plenty of comedy and horror with some slick visuals. Matthew Lillard is always a delight. I recommend this movie.


Music of the Week:

shaping. – this body is a pistol

Winks – Secret Life

Lil Dee & Nef – The Recipe

ARKTA – The End feat. StellarStairs

Mashup of the Week:

Kosmonaut Wake Up – Tuffenuff?


Weekly Update:

  • This week’s theme is “Horror Dad”
  • I watched a ton of YouTube and Twitch: Impact Wrestling, All Elite Wrestling,  LegalEagle, Dead Meat, Some More News, Games Done Quick, Cultaholic, Allison Pregler, Phelous, Game Theory, Jesse Cox, Super Beard Bros, Drawfee, Nick DiRamio, Sad Boyz, Jarvis Johnson, KallMeKris, Dropout, Swell Entertainment, Amalee, IronMouse
  • I watched more Hawai’i 5-0 Season 6
  • I finished NCIS Hawai’i Season 3
  • I watched more NCIS Season 21
  • I watched more Law&Order: Organized Crime Season 2
  • I finished SWAT Season 6
  • I watched more Matlock Season 3
  • I watched more Murder She Wrote Season 3

I watched more Brooklyn 99 Season 6

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment