Media Update 4/21/22

Spider-Man: No Way Home

I have been a fan of Spider-Man since I was a tiny tot. It was one of many comic books that I spent my allowance on and walked several miles to get. I have liked each adaptation of Spider-Man for different reasons and in different ways. This movie was the culmination of two decades of Spider-Man movies. It is the eighth movie but the third incarnation. MCU Spidey has been my favorite because he felt the closest to what I read back in the day. However, I really have appreciated the whole ride. Even the lowest points were a lot of fun. This movie was such a love letter to all of that while continuing the MCU story. Tom Holland really shouldered the movie but had a lot of help from Zendaya as usual. The return of Tobey Maguire, Andrew Garfield, Willem Dafoe, Alfred Molina, Marisa Tomei, Thomas Hayden Church, Jamie Foxx, Rhys Ifans, Jon Favreau, and the underrated Jacob Batalon really made for a great ensemble. I recommend this movie.

Moon Knight

I never read much Moon Knight growing up but I did like his design. In some ways, he reminded me of DC Comics’ Azrael. The strength of this series relies on Oscar Isaacs. Playing three different characters in one piece is difficult but he really pulls it off. The visuals are absolutely stunning, full of twisty mystery and strange dream logic. Oscar Isaac pulls off all three characters while being endearing and charming in different ways. Ethan Hawke plays a perfect level-headed creepy villain. May Calamawy plays a badass female lead. I am really interested to see where this one goes because I have no idea. I recommend this series.

The Batman

DC Movies are so much better now that they have largely abandoned the larger extended universe. As the so-called Snyder-verse closes down, the new movies that have popped up have been way more creative. Batman is one of my favorite characters and I was interested in what this new version would be. The movie encountered so many setbacks during production that I had all but written it off. However, I couldn’t have been more wrong. The extra time definitely let them develop the movie more. The movie feels like an interesting combo of film noir and action-heavy superhero movies. Robert Pattinson is such a good Batman. He realy gets what makes the character tick and does so much with the role. The visuals were so pretty even though they were dark and shadowy, a reminder that dark doesn’t have to mean boring. It was an interesting take on familiar concepts that felt innovative but also comfortable. Paul Dano, Colin Farrell, Zoe Kravitz, Andy Serkis, Jeffrey Wright, and John Turturro made up a great cast. They made some casting decisions that I would not have predicted but it all worked. The movie is a bit long at 3 and a half hours but I never felt like it was dragging. I recommend this movie.

Music of the Week:

Avril Lavigne – F.U.

YUNGBLUD – The Funeral

Gucci Mane – Serial Killers

Maggie Rogers – That’s Where I Am

Mashup of the Week:

Helmholtz Mashups – 2011 Beach Dance Party

Weekly Update:

This week’s theme is “The Hero and the Mask”

I finished Scream Season 3

I watched more The Mentalist Season 7

I watched more Nancy Drew Season 3

I watched more The Legend of Vox Machina Season 1

I watched more Blacklist Season 8

I watched more Riverdale Season 4

I watched more Terriers Season 1

I watched more Peacemaker Season 1

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment